adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

National Best Seller

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, number one New York Times best-selling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations. They know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low, or why their matriarch won’t ever leave their home in Four Rivers - not for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. But when Orquídea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead, Orquídea is transformed into a ceiba tree, leaving them with more questions than answers.

Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings and powers. But soon, a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orquídea’s line. Determined to save what’s left of their family and uncover the truth behind their inheritance, her descendants travel to Ecuador - to the place where Orquídea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked back.

Alternating between Orquídea’s past and her descendants’ present, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina is a “spellbinding tale, both timeless and fresh, that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Prepare to fall in love” (Kim Liggett, New York Times best-selling author).

©2021 Zoraida Córdova. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What listeners say about The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    250
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    207
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Magical Realism Weirdness

Honestly this book is magical realism weirdness but it ended up working for me. Cordova delivers beautiful prose that gives me 10 thousand doors of January vibes.

Orquidea is dying so she invites her descendants to come collect their inheritance. Afterwards, three of Orquidea’s grandchildren left with so many questions, deal with the manifestation of their inheritances over the years. When people in their family start dying they hunt, desperate, for answers. We also follow a young Orquidea and see how all the weirdness started.

Adult content note: moderate swearing and mild sexual content

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magical!

Loved this imaginative, fantastical story. It felt like a fairytale. The writing was superb and the narrator was perfect for the story. Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the entire story

Loved the entire story! It took me to many emotional places nd left me feeling fulfilled and satisfied! I'm filled with gratitude!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

couldn't stop listening! I loved it!

The magic was beautiful, captivating, strange, mysterious and weird all throughout, I loved it! I want more stories like this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow just wow!

What a performance! What an imaginative novel. Newest fan of this author! I’ve been a huge fan of the narrator though. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read

Such a good book filled with magic, finding yourself and family. Worth the listen and high key recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Underwhelmed

I did love the idea of a strong Spanish matriarch being the center of the story. Generational issues was another thing that was relatable. Overall, I was underwhelmed. The story dragged, it was weird but in a boring way and you have sooooo many (Too many) unanswered questions while reading that reading in circles just made it more frustrating. If there were less chapters, less characters taking up space and more magic this book would’ve been wonderful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read!!

Great Read. Slow at first but after a few chapters I couldn’t stop. Like all Grandmothers, Orquidea had a passed and man was it interesting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

More a series of events than a story

A “story” told in two parts where the end is simply to do the thing the protagonist refused to do for decades. Wrap a normally dysfunctional large family and a few bits of absolutely meaningless magic (apparently, just for flavor and to provide solutions to made up problems) and you’ve got this. The story is told at arms length, never once did I feel like I was park of the story, and I can usually see myself in Soace, high fantasy, distopias, or mysteries….

Sometimes you experience a story that, from the cover, is out slide both your wheelhouse and culture…. And sometimes it works and you experience something wonderful…. And then you have this…

I’m sure others will love it, but I did not.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Made it to my favorites

I love the story! The twists and turns.
The magic is awe- inspiring

The elegance of the writing style was my favorite thing. Definitely a truly beautifully written piece to reread and find meaning again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy Bleaks
  • Wendy Bleaks
  • 11-03-21

Well-written, but slow paced

This story follows (mainly) two characters as they try to uncover their secretive grandmother's life to save their own. The story was beautifully written and I liked the analogies as they made the characters' voices distinct. The author did a great job of also making each character distinct (I couldn't quite remember anybody beyond the main characters but I chalk that down to listening - I think this would be even less of a problem if reading).

However, I think the story could have been a little better paced, as I felt it switched from a slow lumbering pace with character intros to breakneck speed at the crux too quickly. In some way the pacing let down the characters a little as well, as I found it hard to be very invested in them. The pacing might have been improved by shortening parts of the story to omit backgrounds about other family members, but I appreciate the point is to show how expansive the Montoya family had become over three generations.

Overall, I think this story is a great fit if you like intergenerational family stories with family secrets, reflection, and introspection.