• The Innocent Girl

  • DCI Hanlon, Book 2
  • By: Alex Coombs
  • Narrated by: Helen Keeley
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Innocent Girl  By  cover art

The Innocent Girl

By: Alex Coombs
Narrated by: Helen Keeley
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

DCI Hanlon is going undercover.

Oxford philosophy lecturer Dr Gideon Fuller is in the frame, but Hanlon is not convinced. 

From the specialist brothels in Oxford and Soho, to the inner sanctum of a Russian people trafficker with a taste for hurting women, the trail leads Hanlon deeper and deeper into danger - until she herself becomes the killer's next target.... 

Can Hanlon track down the killer before it's too late? 

A thrilling new case for DCI Hanlon. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Mark Dawson.

This book was previously published as Cold Revenge by Alex Howard.

©2021 Alex Coombs (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Innocent Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

1

Yuck. Way too much violence, torture. I really liked the island detective work in another book so I thought this volume would be as good. HA!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor
  • Trevor
  • 01-09-22

Poor compared with Hamlin PI

I read the PI series first, I really enjoyed them
Loved the narration, and the story lines.

However very disappointed with the DCI series, really wished I hadn’t bothered
Dreadful narration , not a touch on Carolyn Bonnyman
Would recommend PI series, so much better

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heidi
  • Heidi
  • 12-18-21

Posh voice reading grizzly story..

I listened to the first book, with different narrator, which worked better with the violence and darkness of the story. The new narrator for this second story sounds like she is describing idyllic nature, and not a varied cast of murder suspects.
Content wise, I would like to warn against cringe worthy descriptions of bodies, both attractive and not. Every caracter seems to have an issue, either too fat or too fit or just into self harm. Expressions like «washboard stomach» and «bulging muscles» is just too much for me. I like the murder plots and stories, but all this body focus seems out of place, and put me off listening to it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margret
  • Margret
  • 03-10-22

Unhappy about the narrater

I was almost as unhappy about this narrator than I was about the one of the first book in this series. It's a shame because the story is good. I won't listen to the third though. The reading was monotonous, sometimes distracted (she discovered too late that she had missed the last piece of a sentence and added it after pausing for taking breath), sometimes bored (announcing the next chapter didn't seem to bore the narrator). I like the voice performance of the later books that I happened to listen to first (Missing for Good, Silenced for Good, Burried for Good)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. H. Forbes
  • Ms. H. Forbes
  • 10-19-22

An exercise in superlatives

I read the Hanlon PI books first. and enjoyed them. This is rubbish though. Every attribute of Hanlon is a cliche . She has strong white teeth, She moves with surprising grace, She has a surprisingly strong body, She has dark, shapely eyebrows. She has sleek, powerful head muscles, she has awesome speed, an iron hard forehead etc etc. Boring. I see that Mr Coombes likes Hawkwind, so this is like Hawkwind after Bob Calvert left...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs N Tatton
  • Mrs N Tatton
  • 07-10-22

Loved the book!

Great storyline, loved this book and could not put it down, already looking the the next book in the series.


  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. Richard Thompson
  • Mr. Richard Thompson
  • 06-20-22

A definite improvement on the first.

As already mentioned definitley better than the first but still some plot issues that done really make too much sense. Won't go into too much detail so as not to spoil, the ending seemed a bit unnecessary but otherwise still worth a read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suz
  • Suz
  • 05-24-22

Much better than the last book

It is an OK book, if you haven’t read/listened to Hanlon PI. It really annoys me that her PI time is totally forgotten. Btw the PI books were much better than this series.

I figured the end right in the beginning of the book, and sometimes it does annoy me the author’s descriptions of women. But he is a man, after all lol.

But the book is a good read for summer holidays 😉
The reader is really good.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane-Marie Harrison
  • Jane-Marie Harrison
  • 04-08-22

Far fetched

Far fetched and full of clichés. Appallingly badly read. Don't waste your time! Wish I hadn't.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scaryh
  • Scaryh
  • 03-23-22

brilliant read

loved this book, good story, well read, interesting characters. particularly like the lead character.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Derbyshire
  • Helen Derbyshire
  • 03-15-22

Good story

Good storyline, but was ruined by a dreadful narrator. Bad pronouncing, poorly timed pauses.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessie
  • Jessie
  • 04-08-22

a book about a woman...written by a man.

I enjoyed another Hanlon book more. this one spent half of its words describing her body.it drones on about her lithe, rippling stomach and dancers grace and slim legs a little too much.