• The Innocent Girls

  • A Completely Gripping Mystery and Suspense Thriller (Detective Casey White, Book 2)
  • By: B.R. Spangler
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (238 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Innocent Girls  By  cover art

The Innocent Girls

By: B.R. Spangler
Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Tears stream down her face as she feels the cold blade press against her neck. The sweet scent of her daughter’s favorite strawberry pancakes all around, her last thought is for her beautiful girl. Please, please let Lisa have escaped. 

When Detective Casey White is called early one morning to a beachside vacation campsite in the Outer Banks, she finds the bodies of Carl and Peggy Pearson side-by-side, their throats cut, and their 13-year-old daughter, Lisa, nowhere to be found. Haunted by memories of her own missing girl, Casey fears this could soon become a triple murder: Because without the medication found in the bathroom cabinet, Lisa has just days to live. 

As her team struggle to untangle the meaning of the cryptic symbol carved into the victims’ skin, Casey searches the area for signs of Lisa and is rewarded when she finds her blistered and barefoot, staggering along the highway. The girl barely has breath left to whisper "he invited me" before blacking out. 

Days later, another couple is found murdered on a vacation yacht. A different symbol is etched on their bodies, and their teenage daughter is also missing. Casey’s only clue is an unsettling "invitation" found on the girl’s phone, to a secluded building out in the cornfields. 

Desperate to uncover who is luring these innocent families to their deaths and certain forensics have missed something vital, Casey matches up the crime scene photos herself. The symbols combine to form an upcoming date. The killer is taunting them with the timing of the next murder. 

Racing to follow the invitation in time, when Casey arrives she is shocked to glimpse not the missing girls from this case, but her own missing daughter....

An absolutely addictive mystery thriller that will have you holding your breath until the shocking final twist. Perfect for fans of Kendra Elliot, Robert Dugoni, and Melinda Leigh.  

©2020 B.R. Spangler (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Innocent Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

This book held my attention. It was exciting , and moving. I liked the twists and turns of the plot. This is my first book by this author. Can't wait for his next book!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Obsessed is an understatement.

If you like mystery and suspense start reading these books now. I decided to give them a chance and at first the narration seemed a little “off” to me as someone who typically reads instead of listening to books but I decided to push on and I’m glad I did. It made my drive to and from Florida fly by and I couldn’t wait to keep listening. Currently downloading the entire series. Thank you!!!’

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

long

little long winded. Good but took a few to get into. ending good though. thanks

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Don't waste your credit on this!

Absolutely the worst narrator I've ever listened to! The story may not have been that bad if a different narrator had read it. I even set the speed to 1.10 and the narrator still spoke as if she was drunk or mentally challenged, I'm not sure which. An absolute waste of a credit!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very ok

A serviceable mystery/ thriller. I didn’t roll my eyes once. Kept me guessing. I don’t love it but I’ll keep listening.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Get ready for children of Dowd

Detective Casey White is investigating the murders of vacationing people, and the coincidence is that they all have teenage daughters. Daughters whom had received special invitations to the church of a roving preacher. Can Casey put all of the puzzle pieces together before one of her team is targeted?
Meanwhile, Casey’s ex is in town and expressing interest in getting back together…a bit of competition for Jericho? Another well written, suspenseful story with a great ending. Looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfection!!

Best story across the board, kept my interest throut.love the ending great job B.RSpangler
Perfection

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Suspense with a sultry narrator

The narrator’s voice is, simply put, annoying and she sounds more like she should be narrating a steamy romance novel. There’s a breathy component and a weird nasal thing I just can’t move past. I almost topped the book because of it. I didn’t. Overall I enjoyed the book. I’m from the Outer Banks of North Carolina and I have to say that plot they set is absolutely inaccurate. Setting to the boardwalk that we absolutely do not have down there, they got it all wrong. It’s like they combined Carolina beach and Kitty Hawk North Carolina.