1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Invite  By  cover art

The Invite

By: Sheryl Browne
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The invites went out weeks ago, and tonight, at a lavish manor house surrounded by friends and family, Kaitlin couldn’t be happier. But as the champagne corks pop, her dream party becomes her worst nightmare....

Staring at the stunning diamond solitaire on her finger, Kaitlin is finally getting the chance to introduce her best friend, Zoe, to her perfect fiancé. She hasn’t known Greg long, but he looks after her, and he loves playing dad to her young daughter. How could she say no when he’s already planned their elopement?

As guests arrive, why is Greg acting so shifty? And is that a flicker of recognition on Zoe’s face? And why does she look terrified every time her phone rings?

Kaitlin watches as Zoe knocks back her white wine and makes a beeline for Greg. After a heated conversation, Zoe stumbles toward the door and flees the party without looking back.

Days later, the police knock at Kaitlin’s door - Zoe is missing.

Kaitlin wants to believe her loving fiancé is not to blame, but she knows what she saw the night of the party. And when he lies to the police, can she trust the man she’s marrying? Could Kaitlin and her precious daughter’s life now be in danger too?

The Invite is an absolutely unmissable psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife. You’ll be hooked!

©2022 Sheryl Browne (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Invite

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nonsensical

I really hate to give bad reviews, but this was an absolute waste of time. Ridiculously far fetched, characters that make no sense, and boring to boot. Great narration but that's it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Boring

Too many points of view and identities. Couldn’t keep my interest and at times didn’t make sense.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

decent

Decent story with a lot of twists and turns. The characters were fantastic, the story was somewhat fantasy. Too many things just happened to line up perfectly.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I'm all ears
  • I'm all ears
  • 02-24-22

Totally Confusing

The write up of the book sounded like it was my sort of book, but it wasn't, I had to restart it a lot of times and go back a lot of times too as it was too complicated and confusing, I got to the end, but I still don't know who was who or what happened and why and I can't be bothered to go back again to try to figure it out.

Seemed like most people in the book weren't who they were saying they were, but I still don't know why, and still don't know what happened to Zoe because I lost the whole plot!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rach 71
  • Rach 71
  • 08-19-22

loved every minute of it

twists and turns .... great book, great narrator 🙂 thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-04-22

Absolute Drivel

The only reason I stayed to the end is because I hate starting a book and not finishing.
Most of this book is totally cringe worthy. Terrible storyline.
AVOID!!