1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Italy, 1943. In the hills outside Naples, the silver moon shines brightly on a whitewashed farmhouse. An urgent knock on the door breaks the silence: and in that moment, one young woman’s act of incredible bravery changes the course of the war.

For Carmela del Bosco, a farm girl in a remote Italian village, sheltering an English spy is the most dangerous thing she could do. If she’s caught by the fascists, it would be the end, especially for her beloved grandmother sleeping soundly upstairs. But taking in the pleading brown eyes of the man calling himself Sebastiano slumped at her door, and his terrible injuries inflicted by the Nazi occupiers, Carmela remembers how Nonna always taught her right from wrong. Risking everything, she hides him in a ruined tower on the edge of the farm.

Each day Carmela tends his wounds, and the passion that kindles between them is a light in the darkest time. Sebastiano has information that could end the war, and needs her help to send it. But tracking down fellow members of the resistenza in the mountains means risking her life and bringing danger to everyone she knows.

Carmela knows she must find the courage to do what’s right for her country. But if she leaves the farm, will she ever see her beloved nonna again? And will her sacrifice tear her away from the only man she’s ever loved, forever?

An absolutely stunning and heartbreaking historical novel about the impossible choices people are forced to make in wartime. Fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See and Rhys Bowen will be captivated.

©2021 Natalie Meg Evans (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Italian Girl's Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Touching and realistic

The story took me into the the fog of war and keep my interest all the way through.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wish I could give it 10 stars. It deserves it

Wow what a great fantastic story. I love this author and this ww2 genre is my all time favorite and I was never disappointed . Scared ?yes walked always several times? yes . Couldn’t take the suspense . Her well developed characters drew me in till they were real to me. I learned so much about ww2 Italy Naples and black shirt fascist and evil nazis. Vengeful cruel nazis and Italians betrayed my Italians. I learned so much about the hard farming life in bringing in the crops. This audible has it all Love hate betrayal idealism family. Waiting for more from this author

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 09-18-21

Choices Made During Wartime

A beautiful story really captivating, the choices each individual makes and how their decisions impact each other. The young boys forming an armed army to protect their village against Nazis takeover really stood out for me too. I love all the books by Natalie Meg Evans, The Dress Thief is my favourite, The Italian Girl’s Secret feels shorter and less woven but still an intriguing listen beautifully narrated by Amalia Vitale. Now I’ve finished this one, I’m wondering what’s next! Five stars from me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-31-22

Fantastic book !!!! Really grips from the start

Loved all the characters and animals . Was totally booked from start to finish .

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Wild
  • Michael Wild
  • 12-29-21

It is good in part,

It story is good in part, but I was only a third way into the story when I stopped to decide whether I cared.
The reader's variety of voices had a strong impact on how I visualised the characters; and it wasn't a positive impact.
The normal, rather nasal, tones are not unpleasant, but the characters are variably grating, whinging or high pitched squeak.
Enough said!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-23-21

great book

Although I would like to have a bit more action I think this is a great book. I would be happy to read other books from this author. The narrator also did a great job and told the story with empathy. I had some problems in the start with the Italian English accent but that's just me since English is not my primary language.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for heather Axson
  • heather Axson
  • 10-30-21

A fabulous gripping storyline

loved this book! a bit of history, a love story and adventure all rolled into one. Kept me going on a long car journey. Looking for other books by the author now.