1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Killer You Know is a gripping, original story about toxic friendships and revenge - perfect for fans of Laura Marshall, Ruth Ware, and C. J. Tudor.

I'll murder three strangers. And you'll know it was me....

"A blinder of a read." (The Sun)

"A scary, compelling and a completely original page-turner." (Irish Independent

"An original and gripping thriller." (Laura Marshall)

Summer 1997:  

"You need to kill at least three people, right? So that's what I'll do."

When Will jokes about becoming a serial killer, his friends just laugh it off. But Adeline can't help but feel there's something darker lurking behind his words.

Winter 2015:

Years later, Adeline returns to Blythe for a reunion of the old gang - except Will doesn't show up. Reminiscing about old times, they look up the details of his supposed murder spree. But the mood soon changes when they discover two recent deaths that match.

As the group attempts to track Will down, they realize that he is playing a sinister game that harks back to one they used to play as kids. Only this time there are lives at stake....

Readers are absolutely loving The Killer You Know:

"A twisty, clever exploration of claustrophobic childhood friendships and the darkness they can lead to." (Dervla McTiernan)

"The Killer You Know is one of my favourite reads of the year. I LOVED it. Pacey, nostalgic, excellent very well-developed characters, and a clever plot." (Niki Mackay)

"A gripping, compelling read with a brilliant premise and a wonderfully twisting storyline. An incredible debut." (TM Logan)

"Compelling, creepy, and brilliantly executed, The Killer You Know is an original new voice in the thriller world." (Phoebe Morgan)

"Brilliantly atmospheric tale of toxic friendship, with a killer hook - what if one of your gang turned out to be a serial killer? Loved it." (Liz Barnsely 

©2019 S. R. Masters (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"An original and gripping thriller combined with an evocative coming of age story that will be achingly familiar." (Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request)

"Compelling, creepy, and brilliantly executed...an original new voice in the thriller world." (Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House)

"A twisty, clever exploration of claustrophobic childhood friendships and the darkness they can lead to." (Dervla McTiernan, author of The Ruin)

What listeners say about The Killer You Know

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Seriously?

Great story up until the end. Where’s part 2 I guess.... that should sum up my review. Too bad because it was really good until it wasn’t.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Long and unsatisfying. Love Imogen though!

I listen to anything Imogen Church reads and she does GREAT as usual but if you want my honest opinion on the story: it was way too long, and didn’t have enough action. I think a lot more could have been done with the true crime podcast aspect. I was constantly hoping and waiting for more. It just wasn’t *enough.* I won’t give away the ending if you choose to listen, but I will say I was left completely unsatisfied.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I just can't get into this one

I am a fan of narrator Imogen Church. However, she keeps annoyingly repeating "he said, she said." Animal cruelty plays a role and I will not tolerate that. Her male voices are irritating. I am returning this for a credit.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable!!

I enjoyed this book and partly because I really enjoyed the character development and was interested in all of the characters. Was slightly frustrated that people failed to disclose certain things to each other that would have cleared up many misunderstandings but that was the story. While it’s not a overly suspenseful thriller it was a decent mystery and I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t until close to the end that I more or less figured out where it was going but that did not distract from the actual ending. I look forward to reading more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I have to know

I thought it was a good read, well written and inspiring motivation to hear more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

difficult to keep attention

Only thing good about this was the narration by Imogen Church. The story was just ok, was difficult to keep my attention with all the "he said" "she said" "Steve said etc., was very distracting, had to keep rewinding. And the ending wasn't great but then again I may have missed something in the middle , it was difficult to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad, I had the killer figured out from the get

However, Imogene Church did a great job of narration and I enjoyed the 80"s and 90's references. BTW, it isn't always bad when you know the killer, it can be fun anticipating and worrying about the main character's safety in a forehead slapping "what is she THINKING,; he iis CRAZY" sort of a way.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved all of it

I instantly was hooked. I loved how this story had so many twists, turns and surprises. I binged it and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really very good!

Imogen always narrates very well! She shines again here.
If this is a debut, I’m going to watch this author!!
I’d have to compare this to many of the books out there right now. Psychologically roping you into the tense timeline. It’s very easy to follow, dialogue is really good! I cared about each one of the friends. Each person has a distinct voice, thanks also to Imogens talent.
I haven’t even finished this book yet but chose to review as it isn’t something you want to miss.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fantastic thriller

Ⓐⓤⓓⓘⓞⓑⓞⓞⓚ Ⓡⓔⓥⓘⓔⓦ

𝑻𝒉𝒆 𝑲𝒊𝒍𝒍𝒆𝒓 𝒀𝒐𝒖 𝑲𝒏𝒐𝒘
𝙱𝚢: @srmastersauthor
𝙽𝚊𝚛𝚛𝚊𝚝𝚘𝚛: @imogenchurchgobshite
𝙶𝚎𝚗𝚛𝚎: Thriller, Mystery, Fiction
𝙿𝚞𝚋𝚕𝚒𝚜𝚑𝚎𝚛: @hachetteaudio
𝙿𝚞𝚋𝚕𝚒𝚜𝚑𝚎𝚍 𝙾𝚗: June 20, 2018
@𝚐𝚘𝚘𝚍𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚍𝚜 𝚂𝚌𝚘𝚛𝚎: 3.48
𝙼𝚢 𝚂𝚌𝚘𝚛𝚎: 🔪🔪🔪🔪/ 5 Knives

Ⓢⓨⓝⓟⓞⓢⓘⓢ

"𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕 𝒘𝒊𝒍𝒍 𝒚𝒐𝒖 𝒃𝒆 𝒊𝒏 𝒕𝒆𝒏 𝒚𝒆𝒂𝒓𝒔 𝑾𝒊𝒍𝒍"?
*Thinks*
"𝘠𝘰𝘶 𝘩𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘩𝘢𝘥 𝘵𝘰 𝘬𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘵𝘩𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘱𝘦𝘰𝘱𝘭𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘦 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘢𝘭 𝘬𝘪𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘳, 𝘳𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵? So that's what I'll do".
"𝐈'𝐥𝐥 𝐦𝐮𝐫𝐝𝐞𝐫 𝐭𝐡𝐫𝐞𝐞 𝐬𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐧𝐠𝐞𝐫𝐬".
"𝐀𝐧𝐝 𝐲𝐨𝐮'𝐥𝐥 𝐤𝐧𝐨𝐰 𝐢𝐭 𝐰𝐚𝐬 𝐦𝐞".
"𝐓𝐡𝐚𝐭 𝐰𝐚𝐲 𝐰𝐞'𝐥𝐥 𝐚𝐥𝐥 𝐛𝐞 𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐧𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐞𝐝".
"𝐀𝐥𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐬".
________________________________________
When Will jokes about becoming a serial killer, his friends just laugh it off. But Adeline can't help but feel there's something more sinister lurking behind his words.
Fifteen years later, Adeline returns to Blythe for a reunion of the old gang - except Will doesn't show up. Reminiscing about old times, they look up the details of his supposed murder spree. But the mood soon changes when they discover two recent deaths that match.
As the group attempt to track Will down, they realize that he is playing a sinister game that harks back to one they used to play as kids. Only this time there are lives at stake...

Ⓜⓨ Ⓣⓗⓞⓤⓖⓗⓣⓢ

Right from the start you are pulled in by the promise of a possible killer and not just any killer a killer you may know. I spent the whole time looking for clues and trying to unravel the truth in this exciting thriller. I would think I had things figured out about what really happened, except I was wrong. The author managed to keep me guessing until the end.

I absoutely loved all the 90's references inside this book, especially the references to the 90's bands. It brought back a flood of memories. It felt nostalgic. If you loved the 90's and enjoy reading throwback mentions of bands and things this is the book for you.

It is hard to believe this is Mr. Masters first novel and since then has written two more with another on the way!