1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.92

Buy for $17.92

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." (Stephen King)

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive listen perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” (Sarah Pinborough, New York Times best-selling author of Behind Her Eyes)

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.

A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.

And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Nightfire

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense.” (Joe Hill, New York Times best-selling author of NOS4A2)

©2021 Catriona Ward (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

An Indie Next Pick!
A LibraryReads Top 10 Pick!
A Library Journal Editors' Pick! STARRED reviews from Library Journal and Publishers Weekly!
One of Bustle's "Most Anticipated Books of September"

“The buzz building around Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end. Haven't read anything this exciting since Gone Girl.” —Stephen King  

“Sensational….I can’t recall another novel in recent years that dares so much and succeeds so wildly.” —A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense, cunningly plotted and written with the elegant imagination of a Shirley Jackson or a Sarah Waters. I was completely enthralled.” —Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman

What listeners say about The Last House on Needless Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,715
  • 4 Stars
    676
  • 3 Stars
    311
  • 2 Stars
    115
  • 1 Stars
    123
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,010
  • 4 Stars
    419
  • 3 Stars
    159
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    52
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,551
  • 4 Stars
    612
  • 3 Stars
    259
  • 2 Stars
    123
  • 1 Stars
    126

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I can only listen in 1-2 hour segments!

Wow. This is a weird one, for sure, and I am loving every minute of it.

I am half-way through. I don't care what happens from here through the end! It's super! For a book to entertain me so completely for 6 hours makes me what to hug the author.

If you read or listen to fiction (horrorish / psycho thriller) as much as I do (1-5 hours daily), you are in love when you find a book that reels you in and sets the hook hard. I know that it is not the end that makes me enjoy a book...it's every minute between the beginning and the end. With this one, I am 6 hours into it and I want to rip through to the end, but it's so intense for me that I can't. I'm listening in 1-2 hour segments. I don't think I can see the movie because it's so intense.

Keep in mind that reviewers will suck the life out of books in reviews based on their personal beliefs about what a certain type of a book should be. This one is getting dinged more than usual for such a treasure...not sure why. I love a story that grabs my attention and keeps pulling me right back in. I love a story that scares me and makes my back tingle, and this one does! I adore a story that I can't read right before bed--winner! I don't expect all-new-and-unique-twists, endings, or virgin plots never before heard. They do not exist. But I have read tens of thousands of books and this one is clever. I can't wait to read this author's other books. Thank you, Ms. Ward. You are one twisted sister and I love it!

69 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't Be Fooled by the Great Reviews

Awful. Terrible. Horrendous.

I am kicking myself for not trusting my Golden Rule that a novel written in first person present tense--i.e., the Green Eggs and Ham style-- is always the sign of a bad, bad writer. But noooo, I convinced myself All those reviews can't be wrong! and kept pressing on, hoping against hope it would get better. Nope. It got worse. I made it to Chapter 9, which was so mind-numbingly worse than the first eight horrible chapters I couldn't take it anymore.

I walk into the woods. Lauren is walking into the woods with me. Lauren says to take a flashlight. I walk back to the garage and grab a flashlight and we head back into the woods. I lay my flashlight on a stump. I see the moon. The moon is yellow. Lauren complains that the moon is yellow. I wonder if we do not need the flashlight after all.

I do not like Green Eggs and Ham. Lauren likes Green Eggs and Ham.

That Sam-I-am
That Sam-I-am!
I do not like
That Sam-I-am!

And on and on and on.

This is so outrageously bad, boring and inane. There's a twist, you say? Well as others have noted, the "twist" is abundantly clear from the first couple of pages. I thought, "No, they can't mean that, it's so obvious!" No, it can't be! All those reviews can't be wrong! Yep.

Just please scroll through the 1 Star reviews, of which there are TONS. And then run!

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't stop listening

Loved, loved, loved this book. The narrator was pitch perfect! This was my first book by author Catriona Ward, but I will definitely be purchasing more by her.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Completely unexpected. I thought I was purchasing a mindless, fun, horror story to pass the time but ended up listening to a profound, beautiful and fascinating tale that I won’t forget for a very long time. One of the best books I’ve listened to.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favorite listen this year!

Dark and creepy, but also beautiful and clever. I would have never guessed that this book would be my favorite of the year, but it is. Wonderfully written and masterfully read. I won’t spoil anything by remarking further.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • DP
  • 10-06-21

Confusing but entertaining

"What in the hell is going on?!"

- ME almost the entire time listening.


Loved the cat.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too Weird For Me

This definitely wasn't for me. Its the oddest and strangest thing I've ever heard.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow. Fantastic.

This book twists and turns so frequently you lose your own direction. It’s creepy, sad, gross, thrilling, terrifying, happy and confusing.
Great ending. Really wraps it all up. I will always recommend this wonderful treasure.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not just a horror story

An amazing book about the layers and mysteries of the human psyche. I recommend this highly.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant surprise!

I was expecting a spooky, horrifically dark read and got something even better. I’m so happy that I read this book. ❤️

10 people found this helpful

.