• The Last Thing to Burn

  • A Novel
  • By: Will Dean
  • Narrated by: Sarah Lam
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (119 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Last Thing to Burn  By  cover art

The Last Thing to Burn

By: Will Dean
Narrated by: Sarah Lam
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Immediate, intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant.” (Lisa Jewell, number one New York Times best-selling author of Invisible Girl)

“Brilliantly written...terrifying.” (Ruth Ware, number one New York Times best-selling author of One by One)

A woman being held captive is willing to risk everything to save herself, her unborn child, and her captor’s latest victim in this “intense, dark, and utterly chilling” (Jennifer Hillier, author of ​Jar of Hearts) thriller in the tradition of Misery and Room.

He is her husband. She is his captive.

Her husband calls her Jane. That is not her name.

She lives in a small farm cottage, surrounded by vast, open fields. Everywhere she looks, there is space. But she is trapped. No one knows she is there. Visitors rarely come to the farm; if they do, she is never seen.

Her husband records her every movement during the day. If he doesn’t like what he sees, she is punished.

For a long time, escape seemed impossible. But now, something has changed. She has a reason to live and a reason to fight. Now, she is watching him, and waiting....

©2021 Will Dean. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Limited. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Last Thing to Burn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, terrifying read

The human spirit is an amazing thing; full of wonder and respect. And what people are capable of, whether fighting for life, or abusing others, is no less than heart-stomping.

Jane believes she is heading toward a better life, leaving Vietnam, and heading to the UK. Crossing in boats and trucks is a long, arduous process. But where and what she ends up with is what nightmares are made of.

She is held captive by a hog farmer, who considers her his wife, bought and paid for. Her life is dehumanized, she is beaten, tortured and maimed. Yet her so-called life goes on.

There are things beyond her control and one of these situations change her life in an instant. And here the pathway narrows, so it is barely seen.

This is an awesome read. I love the writing that lulled me in deeper. It’s a poignant story, outlining the best and worst in the world. And here my friends is where I leave you.

This is a not-to be-missed book, providing you can handle physical and emotional abuse.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You won't be able to tear yourself away from this

If you would like something that will not afford you the opportunity to put down the book, that forces you to turn the page and leaves you restless and uneasy every time you escape its grasp then this is the book for you! One of the best psychological thrillers I've read in years!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Woah

At first, a world of pain I wasn't sure I wanted to put myself through. But, it was so well written and I loved the author's previous novels so I stuck with it and then couldn't stop! The narration sounded like it was being LIVED, not read. Powerful experience!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely amazing

So much suspense in this beautiful and heartbreaking story. The narration was incredible. So glad I chose to listen to this!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fasten your seatbelts

Almost read this gothic thriller in one day. Think Misery meets Sleeping With the Enemy or Flowers in the Attic minus the incest. I was pretty much gasping from the start, could not put it down even as sections seemed a bit operatic, and was completely invested in the characters. What a heroine, what a villain!! Sarah Lam gives a tour de force performance. Well worth the credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful.. brutal

So well written and well narrated it was a joy but frustrating in it’s cruelty, in the injustice.
This is more than B thriller pulp this is great writing. I felt this viscerally. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Excruciating!

The writing was excellent. The narration was compelling. The story was so painful, I had several times considered sending it back. I didn't because I was curious about how this awful story would end. But for me even the ending was unsatisfying. If you enjoy novels that demonstrate what horrors a human can endure for a child, no matter the cost, then you will enjoy this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Book, not for me

I’ve been really struggling to find mysteries that I enjoy these days (Where the protagonist isn’t an idiot, the misogyny is minimal, without child abuse/rape-can we start a new category @Audible?). So I almost hesitate to comment on this book since i was disgruntled to begin with. For some reason I decided to ignore all the reviews that stated that this was very slow and to go ahead and listen to it anyways. When I say slow I mean that I drove five hours and in that five hours I don’t feel that anything happened. It was just repeating the same day over and over. if the intent was to give us the feeling that the captive was feeling then bingo! they nailed it. I think it just could’ve been alluded to as we’ve all read books and watched TV and have similar scenarios we could tap into for reference. Everything that happened happened in the last 10% of the book and then it almost happened so fast that it didn’t matter. I am writing this not because I want this author to not make money but because I wish that I had listened to the warnings of the 7000 reviewer’s before me. Also probably should have a trigger warning for almost everything on it.

That being said, it was well performed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening!

I was so horrified, I wanted to stop listening. But I had to know what would happen to "Jane." I absolutely had to know, I couldn't just leave her there. I couldn't stop listening. Finished in less than 24 hours. Narrator was absolutely incredible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

This was absolutely amazing! I was so into this book I was literally yelling at it while I was driving. It is intense, dark, and brilliant. A must read!

1 person found this helpful