• The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School

  • By: Sonora Reyes
  • Narrated by: Karla Serrato
  • Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (85 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. Perfect for fans of Erika L. Sánchez, Leah Johnson, and Gabby Rivera.

Sixteen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very rich Catholic school. But at least here no one knows she’s gay, and Yami intends to keep it that way. 

After being outed by her crush and ex-best friend before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami has new priorities: Keep her brother out of trouble, make her mom proud, and, most importantly, don’t fall in love. Granted, she’s never been great at any of those things, but that’s a problem for Future Yami. 

The thing is, it’s hard to fake being straight when Bo, the only openly queer girl at school, is so annoyingly perfect. And smart. And talented. And cute. So cute. Either way, Yami isn’t going to make the same mistake again. If word got back to her mom, she could face a lot worse than rejection. So she’ll have to start asking, WWSGD: What would a straight girl do? 

Told in a captivating voice that is by turns hilarious, vulnerable, and searingly honest, The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School explores the joys and heartaches of living your full truth out loud.

©2022 Sonora Reyes (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional in the Best Way

This story is filled with emotion at every turn. There were so many moments I felt seen. I laughed, I gasped, I cried. I had a wonderful time listening to this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful

this book made me cry so many times. literally all the characters are incredibly written and performed; this book is wonderful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

new favorite!

This story is so beautiful and clumsy and imperfect in all the ways coming out and coming to terms with life and love is.

I laughed out loud more than once and I know one of the reasons was the performance of narrator Karla Serrato who didn't butcher or anglicize the Spanish language pronunciation of words.

I fell in love with Bo, Jamal, Cesar, Bo's parents, Yami's mom, David, Amber and of course the main character Yamilet. These are beautiful written characters that I will miss!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a cute book

Had me laughing out loud more than once. Great performance by the narrator as well. A beautiful, relatable story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer YA is my new favorite genre!

Funny, real, and moving. This book made me laugh, cheer, and shout “no, she DIDNT” in my car. My dog was very confused. Love these supportive stories for young people - and even better when they shed light on underrepresented cultures. Fabulous!