• The Life She Wants

  • Totally Gripping Psychological Suspense with a Heart-Stopping Twist
  • By: Mel Sherratt
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 7 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (59 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From behind the curtains, Sarah spotted the man coming out of the house, followed by the woman. It would be strange seeing people in the property. She wondered how much it would change their lives. For now, she would bide her time and hopefully get to know them better. She needed to gain their trust.

When I met Richard, I fell for him instantly. He was able to give me everything I had always wanted, the dream house, security and above all, love like I’d never known. We lived a quiet life in the middle of nowhere; we didn’t need anyone else.

So, when the empty house next door is sold, I am wary. Will our neighbors invade the perfect life Richard has built for us? As soon as I meet Juliette and Danny, I am reassured. Overwhelmed by grief after the death of their young daughter, they have moved in search of a quiet life and a chance to start again. Over dinner one evening, we hit it off instantly, and I know they are just the neighbors we need.

All is well until Juliette spots a young girl in our garden. Richard convinces her that she is seeing things, that it’s the grief taking over. But Juliette won’t let it go. She is sure she saw a child. She believes that Richard is threatening her. She starts to think that I’m not safe.

I need to convince Juliette that she’s imagining it. I need to keep Richard happy. If I am to protect everything I have built for myself, she must never find out the truth. 

That my perfect life is built on the deadliest lie.

A heart-stopping psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, T.M. Logan, and K.L. Slater.

©2021 Bookouture (P)2021 Mel Sherratt

Critic Reviews

"One hell of a psychological thriller which I couldn’t get enough of. One more chapter I kept telling myself then before I knew it I had devoured it in one sitting! It is fan-flipping-tastic.... Wow...wow...wow what a story. I loved everything about it, each page leaving me wanting more...utterly addictive." (Baker's Not So Secret Book Blog)

What listeners say about The Life She Wants

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not the best

Waste of a credit. Poor story, poor performance. Don’t buy it, not worth it at all

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good mystery

It took me a while to get used to the narrator. Don't give up. This is a good story but you have to pay attention because it goes back and forth in time and can get somewhat confusing at times, You might wonder why some women stay in bad, abusive relationships; consider the economic impacts...also think what years of emotional and mental abuse does to the psyche. The characters are relatable. Overall, it makes you aware that you might think twice about getting involved in someone's life or maybe make you get involved quicker.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightful Narration

This is a great quick read—with a twisty plot and dark undertone. The narrator was incredible and really brought the story to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a gripping book

This book kept me wondering what was going to happen next, and who it would happen to, AND who would have done it. Really enjoyed this book.

.