• The Lifestyle

  • A Novel
  • By: Taylor Hahn
  • Narrated by: Christine Lakin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (141 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Lifestyle  By  cover art

The Lifestyle

By: Taylor Hahn
Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don't miss the beach listen of the summer! A heartwarming and hilarious novel about swinging, marriage, and complexities of the heart. 

“This book is fun as hell. Hilarious, addictive, moving, and sexy. I lost track of time reading it, and I couldn’t get enough!” —Jasmine Guillory, bestselling author of While We Were Dating

Georgina Wagman has it all—a great marriage, a great job at a prestigious law firm, and great friends. She’s living the life she always wanted, and everything is perfect. Until, that is, she walks in on her husband Nathan in a compromising position with a junior associate. Georgina has a moment of crisis. But divorce is not a part of the five-year plan, so she comes up with an idea to save her marriage and recapture the spark. She and Nathan are going to become swingers. 

Georgina isn’t going to embark on this adventure alone, though. Her friends Felix and Norah and their respective partners decide to tag along for the ride. They’ve got relationship woes of their own that swinging just might fix. Georgina, convinced Felix and Norah belong together, is thrilled. What better place to reignite romance between two people destined to be together than a swingers’ party? Her plan is foolproof, until she runs into a college ex at the first party. When they reconnect, Georgina will find herself torn between her head and her heart, with her very happiness hanging in the balance. 

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Sophie Kinsella, The Lifestyle is a playful homage to Jane Austen's Emma Woodhouse and an outrageously fun summer listen.

©2022 Taylor Hahn (P)2022 Random House Audio
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic Reviews

“Hahn's writing is lively, quick-witted, and sharp, and The Lifestyle piqued my curiosity from its first pages—what a fun and vibrant read!” —Claire Lombardo, bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had 

“Sexy and insightful, The Lifestyle is both a playful and intimate exploration of marriage, commitment, so-called perfection and getting the happily ever after you never anticipated.” —Allison Winn Scotch, bestselling author of Cleo McDougal Regrets Nothing 

The Lifestyle is funny and sexy, a masterful exploration of marriage and friendship, ambition and swingers, and a frantic search for happiness that leads to the most unexpected places. Taylor Hahn’s debut is addictive and smart—a romantic comedy with a twist!—and I couldn’t put it down.”
—Jennifer Close, bestselling author of Girls in White Dresses 

More from the same

What listeners say about The Lifestyle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

This was a fun read, the characters were all well developed and I found myself laughing out loud and also shedding a tear for Georgina. It even made me pause and consider “would I like the life style?”

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TC
  • 09-23-22

Different

A very interesting story. The beginning is a slow burn that's a bit all over the place but once the book gets to a good pace it's pretty enjoyable. Love the glimpse into "the lifestyle" that the book provides. There are a few characters that come off a little annoying in my opinion but I appreciate the vast differences in personality of each person. It added to the depth of the book and I even found myself feeling sorry for Georgina at one point. All in all not a bad read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 07-24-22

Interesting premise but choppy execution

It’s hard to review this one without spoilers. The main characters aren’t likable. Work friendship between person and their spouse’s former lover is ridiculously unbelievable. As far as the swinging- there’s lots of talk about rules, boundaries, and communication but no follow through. Characters break the rules to elicit jealousy and enact revenge. I kept thinking how dangerous their behaviors were. Tiresome trendy NYC content.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Such an eye opener into "The Lifestyle"

I really enjoyed Taylor Hahn's viewpoint with The Lifestyle. It was refreshing, honest and above all showed how everyone involved could take the higher ground in any situation and still come out all right. No matter how bad things got every character showed the decency to step back and evaluate the situation before reacting. Which was really "grown up" and logical. You don't see a lot of that anymore. It was refreshing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good overall

what started out slow and multidirectional finally picked a turn and flowed into a nice cute love story.