adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths from which they’ve been running. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing and what it means to find where you belong. 

©2018 Laure E. Weymouth (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Light Between Worlds

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

you're kidding, right?

this book is basically just taken weird for word from Narnia. don't buy it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Maybe better for adult listeners

I think the story would be stronger if several chapters were spent in each world to deepen their reality. As it is there’s more angst and melodramatic emoting without enough substance to justify all the big feelings. Jumping back and forth between times and worlds is like skipping stones on a lake and never really diving into water. The characters Tom and Jack and Jaimie were much more sympathetic than Evelyn or Phillipa. So, not sure this is a good book for teen girls cuz romanticizes instability and high drama and codependence. Interesting listen for a grounded adult.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this

At first I was skeptical-- isn't this the same story as the lion the witch and the wardrobe? But this ended up being so much more to me. This story has everything, magic, art, history, deep insight into the characters, and a delightfully unfolding narrative. I liked how dialog was used. I liked how the flashbacks were used. Above all, I learned something about myself from reading this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 12-02-18

Loved it

I loved everything about this book. It's absolutely beautiful, and it will stay with me for a while.