• The Light We Lost

  • Lost Light, Book 1
  • By: Kyla Stone
  • Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
  • Length: 12 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (202 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Light We Lost  By  cover art

The Light We Lost

By: Kyla Stone
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The sun gives life. It is also capable of profound destruction.

With little warning, a solar super flare erupts from the sun. A billion tons of superheated plasma hurtles through space toward Earth….

When all lights fail, who will save you?

Thirteen-year-old Shiloh wakes with a dead body beside her, her brother missing, and no memory of what happened. As fiery northern lights blaze across the sky, she sets out into the night, determined to find him.

Haunted by the past, Undersheriff Jackson Cross vows to catch a vicious killer. But every clue he uncovers leads him further into a darkness he fears he cannot defeat.

Eli Pope has just been released from prison. Wrongly convicted of murder, the former ranger has but one goal: exact vengeance upon those who betrayed him.

Meanwhile, search-and-rescue first responder Lena Easton begins a harrowing 1,600-mile journey to Michigan's Upper Peninsula to find the children of the one person she couldn’t save.

As multiple solar storms strike Earth, transformers explode, the power grid fails, and communication networks collapse. Half the world goes dark, thrusting the planet into utter chaos.

With society crumbling around them, the survivors must fight not only for their lives, but for everything they hold dear - hope amid devastation, justice in the face of depravity, and ultimately, the perseverance of the human spirit against all odds.

The Light We Lost is a post-apocalyptic survival thriller exploring the destructive power of coronal mass ejections. This brand-new series from USA Today best-selling author Kyla Stone features flawed characters and high-octane, nerve-shredding thrills. A disaster series perfect for fans of A.G. Riddle, Bobby Akart, Jack Hunt, and Ryan Schow.

©2022 Kyla Stone (P)2022 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about The Light We Lost

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wanted it to be good

I really really wanted to like this book. Most post-apocalyptic stories are light on character development and rich on make/model of firearms and preparations for the end of the world. This book actually focused on characters with nobody living in their basement hoarding food and ammo - a nice change.

Unfortunately, this book tried to be both a murder mystery and a societal collapse book and fell short on both accounts, with neither aspect being exceptionally captivating. I struggled most with the author adding pointless detail (presumably in an effort to make the scenery more real?) right at a moment of intense exchange between characters. It disrupted the whole moment and took away from what could have been real intensity. There were also pages of pointless dialogue and description that added little to either the environment or characters.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

you're my new favorite writer!

I have downloaded over 70 different audio books and hardly any can hold my attention. you write in such a way that it draws me right in! I got hooked on your latest series and I kept checking for anything new and here we are. I used my last credit immediately. keep writing ✍ you're very talented. I absolutely recommend 100%.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

It's a thriller story, with very little CME.

Same ol Same ol. with an EMP as a back drop to an all too familiar story, nothing new here. character development was fair but again nothing new, absolutely zero in originality here. And to add insult to injury book ends with the assumption that you'll get more of the EMP storyline in the next book installment. Don't waste your credit. This book in a nutshell, Innocent Man convicted goes to prison, innocent man gets released from prison on technicality, innocent man is a badass veteran, innocent man helps saves young girl all while the power is out, WOW.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

“Someplace Special” the UP

I’ve lived in the UP since 1975, living about 22 miles south of Marquette, and found this book to be pretty accurate in all aspects of description pertaining to the Upper Peninsula. Great story line especially during these chaotic times. Only trouble is, it hits too close to reality! Makes me a little nervous! Thoroughly enjoyed the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

Very good book excellent story I enjoyed it very much. Looking forward to the second book that being said it looks like it might be a good little while before it comes out so that makes me sad.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, the best kind of writing

The writer, the narrator, the story, the characters all come together to create an "unstoppable ride". Waiting for the next installment is sweet misery.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally an apocalypse book in the UP

I really enjoyed the cast of characters (except for Jackson his type just bother me, lol). Kyla Stone is a great writer!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story

Another awesome book, this author crushes my favorite genre! Really looking forward to the next audiobook!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story!

I really enjoyed this story. It was very descriptive of the area in which it is set and the characters are solid. Mystery and suspense abound as the story progresses. The narration was also very well done. I look forward to the next book in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I need more!!!

I love this book, it is just as good as the Edge of Collapse Series, Eli Pope is my favorite character because when it comes to military background we have alot in common.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tania
  • Tania
  • 08-10-22

I hope they have the next book soon

I enjoyed this one throughly and hope the next one in the series comes soon with the same narrator.