1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.31

Buy for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The best-selling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer listen about love and starting over - set in West Dorset and beautiful Sardinia. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.

Faye has just completed her degree in interior design when she finds herself jobless and boyfriend-less. While debating what to do next, she receives a surprise phone call from her old college friend Charlotte, who now lives in Sardinia and is married to Italian hotelier Fabio.

When Charlotte suggests that Faye relocate for a month to house-sit, Faye wonders if a summer break in sunny Sardinia might be the perfect way to recharge her batteries and think about her future. But then Charlotte tells Faye that there's something more behind the sudden invitation: her friends Marisa and Alessandro are looking for a designer to renovate a crumbling old theatre they own in the scenic village of Deriu. The idea certainly sounds appealing to Faye, but little does she know what she's letting herself in for if she accepts this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity....

©2017 Rosanna Ley (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Little Theatre by the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joyful Jo
  • Joyful Jo
  • 04-10-17

Simply beautiful story

I absolutely adored this story. So well written. I could imagine myself in Sardinia, sampling the cuisine, sightseeing & visiting secret bays. All of the characters story developed & were expertly intertwined with one another. I feel overjoyed at the ending, but bereft that's the book is over. Wonderful. A romantic & historically well written novel that would appeal to anyone over 25yrs of age & upwards. Thank you. I'm now off to download Rosanna Ley's other novel.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. R. M. A. Tinney
  • Mrs. R. M. A. Tinney
  • 11-01-17

Such a disappointment!

I usually love Rosanna Leys novels but this just awful- so bad that I gave up at chapter 7. The narrator is the worst I have ever heard - so slow and boring. Don't waste your money downloading this one!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicki John
  • Nicki John
  • 07-11-17

Another award winning story by Rosanna Ley.

Loved it! I've been totally transported to a life in Sardinia with never having been there. Such is the power of Rosanna ' s story telling. very evocative and incredibly insightful about relationships old & new. I'm addicted! x

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Ross
  • Susan Ross
  • 05-16-18

the little theatre by the sea

Really enjoyed book as Iive in Bridport, Dorset. storey good although a little slow. would have loved a hear a more romantic Italian voice for Alexandro..but really good storey overall.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for david dodson (purple triangle ltd)
  • david dodson (purple triangle ltd)
  • 04-18-17

Predictable

I am sorry to say I thought this story was totally predictable. It should have been a two hour book.
The narrator tried hard but I felt that she always sounded fed up and even in the happy moments didn't cheer up. The reading was very very flat.
I would not recommend this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-25-17

Disappointed

The narration was poor , there were far too many unnecessary pauses. I found the dialogue by the Italian characters very difficult to listen to, particularly the males.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pat T
  • Pat T
  • 04-02-17

Awful!

If I could give a no star or minus star rating I would. I am not a romantic novel fan but have read Ms Ley's Saffron Trail and other earlier works wherein she told a strong story. This book is the total opposite, a storyline so thin as to be virtually non existent, maudlin and depressive in tone from start to finish. This booked contained no 'joy of life' at all. I'm not sure why I carried on listening as it was so aggravatingly bad! It's sad to say that many authors find a format that works and then do it to death, each tale worsening from the original. This is the case with Little Theatre By The Sea, Ms Ley met her Waterloo and was utterly defeated. This book would have made a better short story as it is at least four times longer than the plot could carry, and its target audience might be early teens. Such a huge let down in comparison to her earlier work.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M & R Williams
  • M & R Williams
  • 04-28-21

good story but the narrator not for me

not sure if it was the length of this book or the narrator that I struggled with. her voice was slow a drawling in a whimsical manner (17 hours of this really put the story to the test) and her Sardinian accent of the love interest sounded suspiciously like 'the count' from sesame street, however I stuck it out to ty he end. I did enjoy the story, I just felt that the telling could have been sped up to add an air of excitement. perhaps this is one to read rather than listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet Jones
  • Janet Jones
  • 03-26-22

A nice....

storyline wasn't brilliant I have heard better from this author but I'm beginning to think that this author is not my cup of tea so to speak. The narrator was good but I have heard better as narrators go.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. V. L. Perry
  • Mrs. V. L. Perry
  • 02-07-22

Very disappointing

I have listened to, and enjoyed, several other Rosanna Ley books. However, the narrator absolutely ruined this one for me. Soporific, completely lacking in any emotion or timing. It is very rare for me to give up on a book, but give up I did. After an hour and a half I simply couldn't bear it any more!