• The Lost Boy

  • The Fjällbacka Series, Book 7
  • By: Camilla Läckberg
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (533 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Lost Boy  By  cover art

The Lost Boy

By: Camilla Läckberg
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From internationally best-selling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg comes a new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.

Mats Sverin was Fjällbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he's found dead, detective Patrik Hedström must find answers.

It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? Does she know who Mats really was?

Nathalie has her own secret. Something has forced her and her five-year-old son to flee to their remote family home on the Ghost Isle, where she'll shield her son from the evils of the world.

But as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light.

©2016 Camilla Läckberg (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about The Lost Boy

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    303
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    359
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    135
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I like the series

Not as bleak as the usual Swedish noir, but is dangerously close to slipping into the bane of most series...soap opera type melodrama. Her character development is good and I find myself enjoying the evolution of certain characters.

Overall a good series seven books in so far.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I like this author

This book doesn't seem to have the same glue (as in glued to it) as several oh her earlier mysteries. I was glad to pick up with the interesting characters who people these books. (Each book does stand alone.) It was worth the price.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story

Loved it! I enjoyed the Fjallbacka Murder series and look forward to more audio books by Camilla Lackberg. I highly recommend!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very Good, but perhaps one too many mysteries

This entry in the series was very compelling. The clues in the main mystery were laid out in subtle fashion and timed so that the reader and Patrick solve it about the same time. However there are 3 other mysteries within the book and that is at least one mystery too many. In fact the author seems to have forgotten about one of them and just leaves the reader hanging. This may very well be the plot basis for the next book, but it was unsatisfying not to have a conclusion in this book. There is also a flashback mystery which only kind of works because it is set in the 1870s. The naivete of the young wife living on an island with two men who despise her is believable only because of the era. The latter subplot also figures into the supernatural element of the story and this actually does have an intriguing continuity within the larger plot. All in all well worth listening to.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I like this author….

I do enjoy this writer, but I struggled with this book. Each chapter is very short - and we read about different characters in each chapter - but they aren’t very “developed” and I kept thinking at the beginning of each chapter … “OK who is this now?”.

I think it was 10-12 times that I was tempted to just give up and not finish - took days to finish, I found myself going back to re-listen to understand who the new character was. Torture.

But, glad I didn’t give up. Had the Island situation figured out very very early on…but all in all it was OK. Narration was very well done!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Why have children?

Having finished this book, I can't help wondering why anyone in Scandinavian countries have children. Parents seem terminally tired and barely able to care for the babies.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite by Lackberg

Worth reading if you're following the series to find out what's next for all of the regular characters. The writing keeps you interested until the very end, but this time the story was too predictable. The theme of violence against women is getting a bit tiresome in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible narration

I rated the story only because I had to in order to write a review. The narration is so strange and inappropriate that I can't listen to it and will return it. And make a note to myself not to get a book with this narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Over a 170 chapters

Good story but could have been much shorter. There were a whole load of characters that were absolutely superfluous to the story along with loose ends with the biker gang.

Just odd.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So well done!

An engaging mystery! Twists that keep you guessing. I love the narrator as well! A great investment for certain!