• The Lost Girl of Berlin

  • Gripping and Heart-Wrenching World War 2 Historical Fiction (Daughters of New York)
  • By: Ella Carey
  • Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
  • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • 3.7 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Lost Girl of Berlin  By  cover art

The Lost Girl of Berlin

By: Ella Carey
Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street, and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The child’s eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her....

1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winter’s day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.

Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of postwar life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more. 

Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted, and faces prison. 

Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia - will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home....

From Amazon Charts best seller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love, and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See, and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated. 

©2021 Ella Carey (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lost Girl of Berlin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just horrid

I can’t finish listening to this. The plot this thin and y interesting. The voices are enough to make my skin crawl.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Improbable Incoherent Plot

I have read a couple books by this author. They were OK however this one was not. There were too many sub-plots
which made the story flow in an awkward manner A lot of very preachy women's Lib nonsense.
An awful lot of syrupy dialogue. and unlikeable secondary characters. Willard and Frances!
Historically it moved very quickly over important events. ie. The Berlin Blockade and Airlift.
The "Lost Girl" angle was supposed to be important but was rather secondary.
Enter the Communist/Russian agent Twist.! Really DUMB and over dramatic.
Overall, it was a pretentious and annoying book.
The Narration was OK with the Female voices but the male voices with the exception of Rick were AWFUL'
Will skip the next in the series.
Try Hazel Gaynor or Jennifer Robson for Historical fiction instead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Full of intrigue

Excellent and well performed. i was drawn into the characters and looked forward to hearing what would happen next.