• The Malvern Murders

  • Inspector Ravenscroft Detective Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Kerry Tombs
  • Narrated by: Andrew Cullum
  • Length: 6 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A captivating historical murder mystery set in Victorian England. The Malvern Murders is packed with delicious dialogue, sly humour and Victorian atmosphere. Perfect for fans of M.R.C. Kasasian, E.S. Thomson, Oscar De Muriel and Karen Charlton.

Before Jack the Ripper terrorised London, Police Inspector Samuel Ravenscroft patrolled the streets of Whitechapel. Clever and hard-working, Ravenscroft nonetheless has the worst record in the force. He lets a murderer escape during a chase and is banished to the spa town of Malvern for a water treatment to cure his asthma. Ravenscroft accepts a dinner invitation from a new acquaintance, Jabez Pitzer. Before dinner, the maid finds Pitzer slumped over his desk - dead. Ravenscroft immediately recognises the signs - Pitzer has been poisoned. But the local authorities are reluctant to believe there is a murderer in Malvern. Hungry to prove himself, Ravenscroft is determined to solve the case. But the bodies mount up. Someone is killing local luminaries.

©2019 Kerry Tombs (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about The Malvern Murders

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charlotte
  • Charlotte
  • 09-17-21

Really enjoyed this book!

Really enjoyed this book, the plot was interesting and kept me wanting to keep listening.

I don’t agree with the other persons review, there was no letching in my opinion! But that’s the point, we all have differing opinions on books.

The narrator was superb and really bought the characters to life!

Have immediately downloaded the next book and really looking forward to see if it was as enjoyable as the first :-)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Curator
  • The Curator
  • 05-25-21

A bit trite

My problem with this book was that i didn’t really like the main character. He’s frankly a lecher and seems to throw himself into the life of another character with not much encouragement and while on duty. The plot hinge was a bit trite and this all felt very old fashioned in its writing and outlook.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Whitfield
  • J Whitfield
  • 07-03-22

Very good

Loved it, good story and excellent narration. Will definitely get the next book in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sylvia Green
  • Sylvia Green
  • 07-25-21

an easy believable read

good narration and very well written once I got into it hard to put down