1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Marriage Secret  By  cover art

The Marriage Secret

By: Carey Baldwin
Narrated by: Stephanie Cannon
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He married me despite my darkest secret. But am I safe, now that I know his?

From the outside, my marriage to Zach was perfect: dream home, a perfect baby girl, and passionate, all-consuming love. When we met, I confessed my darkest secret to him, and he never judged me for it. Instead, he vowed to always protect me - whatever the cost.

But as I cradle my gorgeous baby, I have to accept that the husband who used to be my everything has changed. At first, it was little things: expecting me to keep to a strict schedule, picking out my clothes for me. Now, he controls every aspect of my life: from how much money I have, to when I leave the house and whom I can see.

One fateful night, a young woman is found murdered, and Zach is a potential suspect. Turning toward me, a look of warmth returning to his eyes, he swears he’s innocent - and I realize there is only one solution. If I agree to be his alibi, he will keep my secret, and our daughter can grow up in a loving home. In that moment, I do what any faithful wife would do: I stand by him.

But I know deep down, only one of us will make it out of this marriage alive.

A twist-filled psychological thriller from USA Today best-selling author Carey Baldwin. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Marriage, and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to The Marriage Secret.

©2022 Carey Baldwin (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Marriage Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This will definitely keep you guessing until the very end…and do NOT miss the prologue.

Although I have listened to many, many dozens of books, this is the first review I’ve felt compelled to write. My library is mixed with a lot of nonfiction, but for escape I especially enjoy this genre. This is my first Carey Baldwin book, but her writing is so good, it definitely won’t be my last. I have to say this book is one of my favorites of late, although I do have a few caveats. The entire story arc was really well developed, but it took me awhile to start caring about the main character because I was afraid she was only going to be weak. It’s really painful to hear a woman be psychologically punished or bullied by her husband or to have her mental faculties constantly questioned, and I almost considered stopping listening. But I’m so glad I didn’t. Slowly she became a protagonist I could admire and worry about, albeit the handful of times where I had to roll my eyes when she made what seemed like foolishly dangerous choices for a protective, determined young mother. I do really enjoy a book that is long and involved as long as it is not filled with superfluous meanderings. And this one is not. All the relationships and subplots are there for good reason. And the main character did not disappoint.

If I have a real complaint it is with the narrator. Although she did a very good job of portraying Holly, her renderings of almost every other character were painful to endure. The reading of Zach made him seem smarmy almost all of the time, and I’m not sure that was the author’s intent. For the other men it was pretty tolerable, but the voice for her one friend was excruciating. This was a character who was supposed to be in her late 20s, but the narrator’s voice made her sound like a much older woman with a boozy-sort of voice that, IMHO, didn’t fit with this character at all. However, after awhile, those *flaws* eventually became tolerable enough to not let it spoil the storyline. I went on to really enjoy this book, and despite my few criticisms, I would definitely recommended it. Just remember to stay until the prologue!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not worth a credit

I'm not sure why all of the high reviews. So there were a couple of twists at the end, it was pretty predictable just the same.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

From excitement to confusion

The story started off captivating but somehow in the middle it lost steam and didn't make sense. The main characters natively was disturbing and all the characters had inconsistent behaviors. At least there was a Decent ending.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lots of Twists!

NO SPOILERS! This was a good book. The story caught my attention early on and held it until the very end. I recommend this to anyone that likes psychological or domestic thrillers.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different spin

I really enjoyed this story. At the start I thought it was going to be the same dumb wife bad husband book,but it started getting better. Nothing breathtaking, but a nice time passer.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Shockingly good!

This was soo good another one that I hated for the end to come! It had a bunch of hidden gems that made me gasp!! Holly was super naive but hey who doesn’t know someone that swears their husband isn’t cheating??

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Lifetime movie?

If I had known this would be like a bad Lifetime movie, only with poor narration, I wouldn’t have started it! Didn’t finish … hope the baby survived!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Some glaring plot holes

I’m not sure how I feel about this book. It was interesting and mostly held my attention, but there were some things that I really need more information about. The husband for example… there was not one single likable thing about him. There are multiple references to how he used to “not be this way”. Well, then when/why/how did he change SO MUCH that he is loath-able!? Just an annoying detail, IMO.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for me

I returned for a credit refund. It was pretty obvious what was really happening and the whole time I just wanted to scream at the main character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story, Great Twist.

I really liked the story and the twist at the end, The drawn out narration was awful imo.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mary
  • mary
  • 03-03-22

Drivel

I gave up when wife trotted home with husband and new baby after husband had tried to murder her when she was in labour. Very believable!! And she had honours degree! PLEEESE

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E.
  • E.
  • 09-04-22

Yet another tell with no show

If 90% of your twist is revealed in the epilogue with no context included in the actual book, it's not a good story. Of course no one sees it coming, it makes no logical sense when you've never had any of the plot even hinted at. A good thriller drops clues, red herrings, keeps you guessing, builds suspense. The only suspense was built by the MMCs controlling behaviour, but that also fizzled out. Not for me, I won't be reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jodie bland
  • jodie bland
  • 06-29-22

Entertaining Rollercoaster

Thoroughly entertaining story that kept me interested all throughout. Such a puzzle that you thought was predictable but not at all as it turns out. Very interesting storyline.