• The Masked Avenger

  • A Fable
  • By: Peter Alexei
  • Narrated by: Peter Alexei
  • Length: 11 hrs and 23 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Don Quixote for the 21st century

What is adventure? 

What is honor? 

What is loyalty? 

What is homelessness? 

What is madness?

Maddy Stevenson thought she knew something of these questions - from movies and television, growing up in sheltered Newport Beach, California. Now a new graduate from Stanford and an intern at San Francisco’s leading daily newspaper, she has a chance encounter with a homeless Black man who believes he is the Masked Avenger - the defender of those on society’s fringes, and who wrestles with demons that Maddy can only guess at. Through their quixotic adventures together, any preconceptions or illusions Maddy has about homelessness, loyalty, honor, and madness are completely shattered.

In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Wilkie Collins, P.D. James, and Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City, Peter Alexei has woven together a dense tapestry of rich characters to create a mystery of compelling depth, surprise, warmth, and offbeat humor.

©2012 Peter Alexei Maradudin (P)2021 Peter Alexei Maradudin

What listeners say about The Masked Avenger

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mystery - San Francisco & Baseball!

A well written fable from an author who obviously loves a good mystery, San Francisco and baseball. The author does a lovely job of narrating his work bringing to life a variety of characters. Looking forward to Maddy Stevenson's next adventure - a modern Nancy Drew (even though she would not like the comparison) as a Nancy Drew fan this was a very enjoyable novel addressing multiple mysteries, and societal issues with a little romance thrown in. Would recommend this title to anyone who likes either a mystery, San Francisco and/or baseball.