• The Midwife of Auschwitz

  • By: Anna Stuart
  • Narrated by: Sophie Aldred
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (37 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Auschwitz, 1943: As I held the tiny baby in my arms, my fingers traced the black tattoo etched across her little thigh. And I prayed that one day this set of numbers, identical to her mother’s, would have the power to reunite a family torn apart by war….

Inspired by an incredible true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s fight for love, life, and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness.

Ana Kaminski is pushed through the iron gates of Auschwitz beside her frightened young friend Ester Pasternak. As they reach the front of the line, Ana steps forward and quietly declares herself a midwife--and Ester her assistant. Their arms are tattooed and they’re ordered to the maternity hut. Holding an innocent newborn baby, Ana knows the fate of so many are in her hands and vows to do everything she can to save them.

When two guards in their chilling SS uniforms march in and snatch a blond-haired baby from its mother, it’s almost too much for Ana to bear. Consoling the distraught woman, Ana realises amid the terrible heartache there is a glimmer of hope. The guards are taking the healthiest babies and placing them with German families, so they will survive. And there are whispers the war is nearly over.... Ana and Ester begin to secretly tattoo little ones with their mother’s numbers, praying one day they might be reunited.

Then, early one morning, Ana notices the small bump under Ester’s thin striped clothing.

An absolutely heartbreaking WW2 novel of one woman’s bravery and determination to bring life and hope into a broken world. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network, and The Nightingale will be gripped.

©2022 Anna Stuart (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"An absolute must read. I devoured this book in its entirety… I am almost speechless… a box of Kleenex is mandatory. I absolutely loved this book, historical fiction at its best!… Definitely worth ten stars.: (Page Turners)  

"Whoa! Don’t take those tissues away, I’m not quite cried out just yet! Happy tears, sad tears, who knows where one ends and the other begins!… Beautiful, heartbreaking, heart-warming, uplifting and inspirational." (Fiction Books)

What listeners say about The Midwife of Auschwitz

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Why a British narrator????

Great book, but a British accent for the narrator made it a bit hard imagining German Soldiers.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Midwife of Auschwitz

Great book which brought you right into the times…a love story of sorts even during the darkest of times. A book that gave hope when there was no hope left. Excellent.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion Shepherd
  • Marion Shepherd
  • 08-09-22

a story of suffering and such bravery

there is always hope for the lost children of the death camp's thanks to brave midwives.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for laugh out loud
  • laugh out loud
  • 08-01-22

we don't know how lucky we are!

Such bravery and compassion in the face of terrible cruelty and hatred! I cried in places and I'm grateful all over again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-23-22

inspiring history

I got really moved by this book, I couldn't stop listening to it. It is sad to know what people went through but Ana and Esther's story touched with their kindness and hope. God bless all families who suffered during this war.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for maggie
  • maggie
  • 07-22-22

Fantastic story,

loved this story couldn't stop listening , totally engrossed. So sad, would definitely recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-08-22

Beautifully written and heartbreaking

A true story of how a midwife called Anna managed to survive the camps, with her friends and what happened to the the babies born in captivity, a heartbreaking story, a bit slow at times, and the joy of liberation and freedom for all.