• The Missing Baseball

  • The Zach and Zoe Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Mike Lupica
  • Narrated by: Keith Nobbs
  • Length: 53 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.40

Buy for $15.40

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Cam Jansen, number one New York Times best seller Mike Lupica begins an exciting new chapter-book series, featuring his trademark sports action and heart, and a lovable twin brother-sister duo who solve sports-related mysteries.

There's nothing eight-year-old twins Zach and Zoe Walker love more than playing sports and solving mysteries. And when those two worlds collide...well, it doesn't get any better than that. So when a baseball signed by Zach's favorite major league player suddenly goes missing - the search is on! Luckily, amateur sleuths Zach and Zoe are on the case. Can they solve the mystery and find the ball before it's lost for good?

In this first book of the Zach and Zoe Mysteries, best-selling author Mike Lupica begins a series for a new and younger audience, introducing listeners to a sports-loving detective duo who can swing for the fences and catch the culprit in one fell swoop. With a recipe equal parts sports and mystery, the Zach and Zoe Mysteries break fresh ground for an author who has been called the greatest sportswriter for kids.

©2018 Mike Lupica (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Lupica kicks off a new series starring a pair of 8-year-old twins who solve sports-themed mysteries.... Along with plenty of suspenseful sports action, the author highlights in both tales the values of fair play, teamwork, and doing the 'right thing.'...the supporting cast shows some racial and ethnic diversity. Wholesome, uncomplicated fare for the younger Matt Christopher crowd." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Mike Lupica is bringing his sports knowledge and excellent writing ability to the chapter book world.... [Zach and Zoe] have exciting playoff games, supportive parents, and act true to their ages...there is no evil involved in the mysteries, and the community is supportive. It is evident early on who or what is behind the mysteries, but this should be a positive for youngsters who are just getting started with guessing the outcomes of chapter books." (School Library Connection

"Zach and Zoe are likable and kind to each other, and their parents are supportive. Lupica knows how to write sports action with a heart.... Give these to young readers who are looking for easy sports fiction or who are new to the mystery genre." (School Library Journal

What listeners say about The Missing Baseball

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.