1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"With its evocative Dublin setting, lyrical prose, tough but sympathetic heroine, and a killer twist in the plot, Sarah Stewart Taylor's The Mountains Wild should top everyone's must-read lists this year!" (Deborah Crombie, New York Times best-selling author)

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: No trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

A Macmillan Audio production from Minotaur Books

"Atmospheric and lyrical, The Mountains Wild is that rare thing - a riveting thriller with a beating heart. In this beautifully wrought portrait of love and family, secrets and lies, Sarah Stewart Taylor dives deep into character, all the while ratcheting up the suspense, page by gripping page, through to the stunning end." (Lisa Unger, New York Times best-selling author)

©2020 Sarah Stewart Taylor (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Mountains Wild

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent mystery, well worth your time!

The Mountain Wild is the debut novel by Sarah Stewart Taylor.

I decided to listen to this book because it was narrated by Marisa Calin, who I love and the few reviews it had were very good.

The story follows Long Island detective Maggie D'arcy who after 23 years finds herself once again investigating the disappearance of her cousin Erin, who disappeared in Dublin. The story is told using flashbacks, so we simultaneously read about the current investigation and the initial investigation into Erin's disappearance.

I don't want to give a lot away but I loved the way the investigation unfolded as well as the way we find out what happened to Erin. I read a good amount of mystery and I did not guess the ending, though the clues were there.

Throughout the book we get to know Maggie and we get to see her interaction with the Irish police detectives as well as an old flame (the one who got away). Aside from the mystery there's also some romance, but the romance never takes precedent over the mystery. It's a side story that is also tied to the main mystery so it doesn't feel superfluous.

The narration by Calin was excellent, as usual, though I was a little haired by her American accent which I was not expecting. She did a good job though.

Overall, I loved the story, the characters, and the writing as well of course the narration and I get wait for book no. 2!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I picked this book because it was by an Irish writer and had an Ireland theme. Little did I know how completely engrossed I would be right from the beginning. The narrator is the best that I have ever heard! I absolutely loved the book, the plot, the twists and turns, the story, the closure at the end etc. I’m on the hunt now for more books by Sarah Stuart Taylor. Highly recommend this book!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst narration I’ve ever heard

Marisa Calin don’t try to do a Long Island accent. The annoyance of hearing you slip in and out of it was so horrible I couldn’t even get through the whole story so I have no idea if it was good or not.

Sarah Stewart Taylor I suggest you get this now read it again by someone else and maybe more people will be interested in listening.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Keeps You Guessing

The plot has twists and turns. I’m good at figuring out mysteries but this one kept me guessing. I like that the scary parts were short lived and there was no real violence. I enjoyed this book a lot.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful for crime/ police procedural addicts

Grief over the loss of a loved one never leaves a family as Sarah Stewart Taylor's razor-sharp launch of a new series deftly shows. "The Mountains Wild" uses the beautiful, lyrical background of Ireland to further explore its characters who share the Emerald Isle's remoteness, mystique and complicated past.

Erin Flaherty's disappearance 23 years ago in Dublin where she had moved from Long Island, NY has left her family in tatters. Her broken father hopes each day to find out what happened as does her cousin Maggie D'arcy, now a homicide detective.

When Erin first vanished, Maggie went to Ireland and spent weeks, talking to Erin's friends, scouring the countryside and giving insight to the police about her sometimes wild, often unpredictable cousin. At the time, police thought Erin might have been linked to the disappearance of another young woman or she might have just run off.

Now, decades later, Erin's scarf has been unearthed in the Wicklow woods in Ireland while police were looking for a missing schoolteacher. Maggie returns to Ireland. The Dublin police hope tofind the missing teacher and maybe resolve Erin's case. Maggie wants to be more involved than she can be as an American detective with no jurisdiction.

"The Mountains Wild" smoothly alternate between 2016 and 1993 showing Maggie’s character development and her unshakeable loyalty to her family and concern for her cousin, despite her often awkward relationship with Erin.

Maggie's initial investigation sharpened her career plans and sealed her future as a police detective. Since then, Maggie has proven her mettle in high-profile cases in Long Island, making the unsolved case of Erin even more glaring.

In addition to her intelligent characters, a badass female detective is always a plus, Taylor has sculpted "The Mountains Wild" as a valentine to Ireland, delving into its beauty, history and varied landscape - all of which lead to "a warm, homecoming sort of feeling."

We may not be able to travel to Ireland right now, but Taylor has brought the country to us. "The Mountains Wild" is a terrific series launch. I’ll be looking for the second book in the series.

The narration was fantastic, I loved the different accents and intonations, just wonderful !

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

ho hum

The narrator drove me to distraction with her inconsistent attempts at the Long Island accent. The story was slow and ho hum. Why I listened to the whole book is beyond explanation.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

buy it

Really good. It took me awhile to get past the main character's accent but it was worth it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Don’t understand the hype

The reader has a strange inflection, difficult to listen to. The story is a bit far-fetched, and I just didn’t enjoy it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book- nice twists!

A good story but the narrator’s Long Island accent is spotty and distracts from the listening experience. I almost gave up but I got invested in the story- Ireland crime stories suck in me every time. However, the other accents from the narrator are quite good. Don't give up, it's a good story with some twists I didn't see coming!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

I almost didn't get very far when I heard the narrator. But after running out of books, I decided to try it again. The story was very good with some great twists I didn't see coming. The narration was not good when narrator would throw in a word here and there in what was supposed to be a Long Island accent. Most of the time in the book she was fine. But the occasional "Long Island" pronunciation was awful and detracted from the story because I would linger on her pronunciation of water and coffee, etc.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 06-24-20

Love this so much

Ireland a place I adore. This takes me there. And what an interesting moving story. Love the characters and the scenery. Please write another set again in Ireland. Dublin.