1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Murder List  By  cover art

The Murder List

By: Hank Phillippi Ryan
Narrated by: Angela Dawe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $32.19

Buy for $32.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now a Mary Higgins Clark Award Nominee!

Anthony Awards - Winner, 2020

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

"An exhilarating thrill ride that keeps you turning pages...Ryan deftly delivers a denouement as shocking as it is satisfying." (Liv Constantine, best-selling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Last Time I Saw You)

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She's smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston's defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA's office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is she’s wrong. And in this cat-and-mouse game - the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

©2019 Hank Phillippi Ryan (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Murder List

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Why the low ratings?

As of this writing there are three ratings. One person rated this five stars and two people have rated it one star. I’m not sure why but I’m happy to say I am giving this book a five star review.
The book begins slowly as the characters are developed. Once established the story picks up momentum about the half way point. It vacillates between past and present until the two collide. The publisher’s summary gives enough information that I don’t want to elaborate on the characters. The plot though is very interesting. This is a legal thriller not a court room drama. You’re really not sure who the murderer is until the end and then it’s a bit of a shock. The epilogue is rather weird but fitting.
Angela Dawe does a great job narrating.
I really enjoyed this book and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

50 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ryan's best book yet

Wowie wow wow! This was a GREAT thriller. So many triangles. So many twists and turns. Nearly every chapter ended with a new shocker. I couldn't put it down.
My only question about the feasibility of this novel's premise is: Would a public prosecutor turn private detective on the cases she works on? Would she show up at the crime scene with the police or before the police? Would she write her own search warrants and interview subjects on her own in their homes? I wouldn't have thought so, but this one definitely does.
Best of all, Ryan keeps it all clean. No sex. No bad language. Lots of excitement!
Angela Dawe did a great job with all of the characters, and although the timeline flips around a bit, her narration kept me sharp to the time.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Such a disappointing listen

I really struggled to find ANYTHING redeeming about this book. Every single character is miserable and unlikeable. The three main characters, The DA, The Defense Attorney and The law student were just horrible people and promulgates the stereotype that lawyers are bad people. Without giving away the story, the ending was totally unbelievable. It is revealed as an epilogue and literally contradicts EVERYTHING we know from the rest of the book. I couldn't be more disappointed in a novel

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Writing and narration - good, storyline not for me

I'm conflicted about this audiobook. The narration was good and the technical aspects of the writing were good, but I didn't connect with any of the characters, in fact I didn't like them. And, I really didn't like the ending. The author created subplots that I thought were pertinent to the story and they were left dangling. I think, in retrospect, they were used just to throw the reader off-kilter.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exercise in manipulation

The main characters in this story are constantly pulling the reader in opposing directions. They guide you and confuse you. It’s a rollercoaster who’s end comes slamming you out of your seat. Enjoy the ride!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Strange law interpretation.

Too unreal to be believed but not a bad storyline. Narrator was good. Would recommend.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SB
  • 12-13-21

Waste of time

This is awful, utter drivel, ridiculous nonsense. People do not behave this way. The story is so disjointed, moving back and forth in time, and moving between different cases. It is very confusing and feels gimmicky and unnecessary. The author really does the reader a disservice. There is just too much going on, it's a mess. I also did not care for the narration. Some of the female voices were very grating.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

padded with redundant self centered obsession

it is impossible to care about what happens to these self centered characters after reading their repetitive obsessive reflections and redundant manipulative thoughts. in the first 30minutes the main character tells us no less than five times that she is married to another character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely was intrigued!

There was a couple of murders going on past and present with all the same players. Characters were so perfectly developed and conveyed more of their truths and lies as the story unfolds. It’s a really captivating story! Narration was excellent and portrayed the various characters so well!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Plot If You Stick With It

The plot and ending are fabulous! You can see why the mystery coming together as it does has resulted in Ryan's multiple award nominations. And Ryan always writes about Boston elegantly. The narrator did a good job, especially as harsh and ambitious DA Martha Gardener. I could not give this 5 stars though, because I walked away from this in the middle for a month. I read another book before retuning. I almost missed the stellar second half, because the characters felt a little generic. I don't mind an unlikable character, but I felt like I couldn't feel the core of any of them. I can now see the challengers the plot created for characterization, and damn do you know them in the end. So stick with it.