1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Murderer's Ape  By  cover art

The Murderer's Ape

By: Jakob Wegelius
Narrated by: Kimberly Farr
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"This may be the most charming book I’ve read all year." (The New York Times)   

"I don’t know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." (Philip Pullman, internationally best-selling author of the His Dark Materials series)   

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories. 

Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder. 

For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets. 

©2017 Jakob Wegelius (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Slyly funny and poignant...a thrilling adventure." (Caldecott Medal winner Paul O. Zelinsky)

"Features a complex mystery, an intricately constructed narrative, and deep characters. Committed, careful readers will be richly rewarded." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A richly imagined and thoroughly unique adventure." (Booklist)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Murderer's Ape

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Childlike telling of an intriguing series of events

Sally Jones narration of the story's series of events uses some sophisticated language, but with a somewhat childlike viewpoint. Some of the mystery's revelations were a long time telegraphed before she puts things together for herself. Still. I like the approach for middle and high school readers.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Trip around the world!

Loved this story! I am planning a trip to Portugal because of it!! Thought the reading could have been slightly better, narrator like to use the same accent for everyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story and an extraordinary performance!

Can't possibly be better than this! You must listen to it! And then continue with the new book "The false rose". Enjoy!