• The New Girl

  • A Totally Addictive Psychological Thriller with a Heart-Stopping Twist
  • By: Ruth Heald
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 7 hrs and 52 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (57 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Behind her dream life hides the perfect nightmare.

I couldn’t believe it when I got the call to offer me my dream job. It was right in the heart of the city with a flat provided. I jumped at the chance, and within days I had made new friends and began dating a wonderful man. For the first time in years, I feel safe.

It’s a world away from the life I ran from....

But soon strange things begin to happen in my flat: odd noises in the night, the feeling that I’m being watched. When I discover an old dress hidden behind my wardrobe and wear it to work, the atmosphere chills instantly. The dress belonged to a girl my boss would rather forget. The girl before me who vanished without a trace.

I tell myself not to worry; that I’m just imagining things. But when a young woman arrives on my doorstep, she warns me to leave my new life behind. She tells me there are more girls like me, and we are more connected than I could have ever imagined.

Then I come face-to-face with the reason I ran all those years ago, and it soon becomes clear: Someone knows my secret. And they will do anything to keep me silent.

A totally gripping and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and You.

©2022 Ruth Heald (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The New Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just....No.

Do not waste your time on this endless nonsense. The narration was excellent, but besides that.....just...no.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful

Not a shred of descriptive language, a sense of place is never established, and there is no atmosphere.
Describe things for the reader other than simply what’s happening!
Bring us into the story with the details!
This never happens.
This book had such potential, and it fell so flat and rings so shallow that I couldn’t get past the fifth chapter.
It literally put me to sleep.
Even the gifted Tamsin Kennard couldn’t save this one.
Save your $$$ because there is absolutely nothing new to see here.
A total let down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not a decent person in the whole story

The hysterical heroine shows no signs of a competance that would allow the happy ending presented. The scenario presented is so unrealistic that one with even minimal intelligence would question it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and Turns! What happens next?!?!

kept me up late several nights! couldn't wait to see what happened next! narrated beautifully!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Irritating and gullible main character

Sophie was so irritating and absolutely the dimmest bulb on the tree. Always in need of rescue.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I'm all ears
  • I'm all ears
  • 01-29-22

A bit same old, same old

Good story In parts but some of the story was predictable, but had one unexpected twist, but had still guessed the rest.

Also a bit annoying as if all is too good to be true it usually is, and a bit OTT

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emma mobile
  • Emma mobile
  • 04-14-22

Tosh

a whole load of exaggerated nonsense. far fetched and unbelievable. sophie the main character is simply annoying.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bucks
  • Bucks
  • 02-03-22

Just not sure

I listened to the whole book and it was enjoyable, but for me it wasn’t captivating. The main character was just SO dumb. Maybe it’s me, but this book was not really a suspense thriller, it was a decent story but had some very naive women thrown in the mix.
The ending was of course very ‘happy ever after’ I’ve read better by Ruth Heald if I’m honest.