• The Night Whispers

  • A Slayton Thriller, Book 2
  • By: Caroline Mitchell
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.17

Buy for $38.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don't miss this gripping Slayton thriller from number one bestselling crime author Caroline Mitchell.

It began with the whispers. In the woods, in the park, and always at night. Then they came into town, down dark alleys, and in the shadows. Before long, the black-eyed children were moving closer, until finally there was a knock on the door.

When the couple were found dead with their faces frozen in horror, the children were nowhere to be seen. Until it happened again.

Join Detective Sarah Noble as she investigates another dark case in the town of Slayton.

Perfect for fans of Alex North, Cara Hunter and Stephen King.

©2022 Caroline Mitchell (P)2022 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Night Whispers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Chilling Thriller

This chilling psychological and supernatural thriller will grip you from beginning to end. If you hear the Black Eyed Children, pay heed. If they knock on your door, don't let them in. A mesmerizing story by Caroline Mitchell, brilliantly performed by Emma Gregory.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great, creepy/scary ghost/mystery story!

I am LOVING this book! The writing is excellent, & the mix of murder mystery & ghost story is really fun! Well worth the credit...Already bought the 1st book in this season.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn’t like it.

Didn’t like it was not for me. Wish I could make a return. Maybe I should cancel audible.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Hoped for more

I read The Midnight Man first and had much higher hopes for the second book in the Slayton Thriller series. The story had great potential but kind of fell back on predictable easy story telling.
The narrator was great for all the voices EXCEPT the main character, Sara and the little boy Elliot. Both were very immature and baby-ish sounding. Drove me crazy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book was incomplete

The Night Whispers was incomplete. On Chapter 40, it kept repeating the chapter over and over. Also, upon reviewing the chapter section of the book, there were no chapters after Chapter 40.

So far the overall, performance, and story was good.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Sequel not good.

I read The Midnight Man. It was not a great book in my opinion but it did keep my interest. Thought I’d try same author in this the second of the series. Don’t bother. It’s a hot mess. Holes in plot never explained. How/why did Samson get adopted? Why was Noah only looking for two of his sibs and not Samson as well? These are just examples. It reads like the author was in a hurry to crank out a second book.
Same narrator for both books, but couldn’t stand how she did Sarah’s voice in this one. Like a little girl. Totally unbelievable to have a police detective sound like a simpering child.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs A McDowell
  • Mrs A McDowell
  • 09-25-22

Hooked

Unlike others I found the narration easy to listen to. I listened to both of these books back to back and am now waiting for the next one. Easy listening with a great twist

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 09-24-22

A bit like The Shinning…

Not as good as book one but still enjoyable. Lots of characters and red herrings abound but a wee bit too much of the supernatural for my liking. Will wait for book 3 ..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra Bassett
  • Sandra Bassett
  • 08-16-22

Loved it!

I have only recently discovered Caroline Mitchell when I read The midnight man (which also had me hooked!). When I saw there was a second book to the series out I had to have it and I wasn’t disappointed. Another gripping tale that will keep you guessing until the end. The narrator was also really good at bringing the different characters to life. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gina
  • Gina
  • 08-16-22

Really enjoyable, excellent narration!

I bought this straight after listening to the first book in this series, I don’t normally like police series but I can see book 3 being set up and I will be excited to listen to that once it’s out. I enjoyed this more than the first one because there was less lingering on violence towards women, which I found uncomfortable to listen to in the first book. The narrator is so talented, her differentiation between voices and accents is on pointe and so skilful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 08-05-22

Entertaining

A decent listen though somewhat convoluted but that didn’t spoil it. A nice mix of characters though the baddies can be a little “mwahaha”.