1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Occupation  By  cover art

The Occupation

By: Deborah Swift
Narrated by: Stevie Zimmerman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A pause-resisting historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks, and Kate Atkinson.

One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself.

1940, Jersey. When Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German, must decide where her loyalty lies. Love for her island and fear for her Jewish friend Rachel soon propel her into a dangerous double life.

Meanwhile, Céline’s husband Fred is conscripted into the Wehrmacht in occupied France. Horrified by Nazi acts of atrocity and torture, he soon becomes a double agent for the French Resistance. But when things go wrong, and his Nazi masters discover his true allegiance, he finds he has the whole of the German Army on his tail.

How far will Céline go for her best friend? Will Fred make his way home to her? Or, will their lives be changed forever by the brutality of war?

The Occupation is a moving war and military saga following the separate stories of a young man and woman through the years of the Second World War as they fight to survive.

©2019 Sapere Books (P)2020 Deborah Swift

What listeners say about The Occupation

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Harsh story of a brutal time

Do not start this book expecting a gentle WWII story. Horrible things happened during the war, and horrible things happen to the characters in this book. But Ms. Swift does an exemplary job of detailing the ins and outs of daily life during the German occupation of the Jersey Islands and explores the relatively little touched-upon perspective of a German citizen forced to return from abroad to serve the Reich. My attention was riveted throughout, though I cannot say I "enjoyed" the book. Now that I've finished and gone on to other stories, I find my thoughts returning to Céline, Fred, and Rachel. I requested and was gifted a complimentary copy of this audiobook from the author and am very grateful to have experienced The Occupation. I recommend it heartily, but be aware that it will not be a light, pleasant read or listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story enjoyed so much,finished in two days.

The lives of Celine and Fred keeps you interested till the very end
Was disappointed when it ended.e

Enjoyed so much

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

sometimes brutal but worth the listen

beautiful narration, fascinating story, I learned more about WWII and also about courage and kindness
I will read more by this author follow this gifted narrator

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

I absolutely loved this book. The characters where so fascinating and easy to become attached to. A must listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

San Ramon Joe recommends

Worth the listen. Interesting, intriguing, captivating, historical novel, which is based on true events though a work of fiction.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great book

This audio book kept my interest from beginning to the end Ms Swift even made for interesting listening in a Nazi basic training camp. It moved along quickly not dwelling on boring details. I loved her main characters. She showed where blind allegiance led to death and destruction. Her book had a very interesting story to tell but some of the details of mans cruelty to man was hard to bear. One of the best books ive listened to all of 2020. Will read more from ms. Swift

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Touching

This is a very touching, pull at your heart strings, kind of book. It’s a hard story to read but true in many ways.
It kept my interest all the way through and the narrator did an excellent job.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

It took me a little bit to get into this book, but I ended up really enjoying it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read with many heros


Good read. Not a lot of intellectual depth. I love a good hero. This book had many. Thank you for the opportunity to read "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.”

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book suck me in

I’ve just finished listening to this heartbreaking story and I can’t get it out of my mind. It pulled me in with Stevie Zimmerman poignant narration. I had read a lot of books about WW 2 but never did I consider the fate of Jersey.
The plot and characters were masterfully developed, inner thoughts and struggles of Celine, Fred, Rachel gave their characters more depth, enhanced by the narrator‘a talent, I especially enjoyed her rendition of French and German accents.
The book’s realistic description of life in occupied countries and complex characters facing very difficult decisions made me feel very strong emotional connection to them. Beautiful prose and flawless narration made me cry many times.
Highly recommended.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy
  • Cathy
  • 08-27-22

Interesting viewpoint

This is a slightly unusual story as it’s from the viewpoint of a German conscripted in to the Army during the Second World War, and his wife who was left behind in Jersey. I’m not quite sure what I expected. It was an interesting listen but not hugely memorable. The narrator was also a little monotone and in the beginning it was a little confusing as to who was speaking.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catriona
  • Catriona
  • 08-10-22

Highly recommend!

Loved the story and the excellent narration. I will be looking for more by this author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clair
  • Clair
  • 06-15-21

Engaging and Informative

I enjoyed this book. The story was believable and satisfying. The balance between good and evil on both sides was well maintained. The main characters are well developed and there are many interesting minor characters.
I recommend this audible version. The narrator was clear and precise. Each character has a voice without over exaggerating their nationality

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for henry fabian Dr.
  • henry fabian Dr.
  • 05-28-21

Dr Henry Fabian

Really enjoyed the content of the story and the integration of the characters. The pace flowed exceptionally well and the history supplied a number of surprises which created an exciting aura. I’ll certainly recommend the book as a very good read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D Baylis
  • D Baylis
  • 10-24-20

An enjoyable and a thought provoking read

Really enjoyable read set in a fascinating time and place. A rare insight into an occupation experience in the UK in WW2. Great characters that were believable and relatable. I became thoroughly engaged with them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-09-20

Enthralling

You could never predict how the story was going to progress.Loved listening to every minute.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Lois Best
  • Mrs Lois Best
  • 07-30-20

Excellent!

Deborah Swift paints pictures with words, revealing the brutality of war on ordinary people in brilliant Technicolor. Highly recommended!