1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One of PopSugar's Most Anticipated Books!

One of Bibliofile's Most Anticipated Mystery/Thriller Books!

“Great psychological suspense with a wallop of a twist.” (Harlan Coben, number one New York Times best-selling author)

New York Times best-selling author Wendy Corsi Staub makes her debut with a fast-paced thriller in the vein of Lisa Jewell’s The Family Upstairs and Megan Collins’ The Winter Sister. Here, a family making a fresh start moves into a house that was the site of an unsolved triple homicide—and is watched by an unknown person....

The watcher sees who you are...and knows what you did. 

It’s the perfect home for the perfect family: pretty Nora Howell, her handsome husband, their two teenage daughters, and their lovable dog. As California transplants making a fresh start in Brooklyn, they expected to live in a shoebox, but the brownstone has a huge kitchen, lots of light, and a backyard. The catch: its previous residents were victims of a grisly triple homicide that remains unsolved.  

Soon, peculiar things begin happening. The pug is nosing around like a bloodhound. Nora unearths a long-hidden, rusty box in the flowerbed. Oldest daughter Stacey, obsessed with the family murdered in their house, pokes into the bloody past and becomes convinced that a stranger is watching the house. Watching them.

She’s right. But one of the Howells will recognize his face. Because one of them has a secret that will blindside the others with a truth that lies shockingly close to home—and to this one’s terrifying history.

©2022 Wendy Corsi Staub (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Other Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • EL
  • 02-09-22

Narration is painful

Hilary Hubert was terrible. The daughters voice and the boyfriends voice were like nails on a chalkboard. Would’ve been so much better with a Brittney Presley or January Lavoy. Almost couldn’t finish it because of the narrator but the story was great!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Undecided

I thought I was enjoying this book until the ending when I had to re-listen several times to get the storyline and names straight and to figure out what really happened.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sounds like a robot is reading the book

I'm sure the storyline has potential to be good but I can't get through the 1st chapter as it sounds like a robot is speaking half the time... What a bummer and waste of waste of my monthly audible credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 08-20-22

Satisfying in suspense!

I loved this! Great stand alone book! The story telling really packs on the suspense and twists!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

teaser

but disappointed. I wasn't getting hyped to the storyline. disappointing. did I miss something

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

missed opportunity

the plot had potential, figured it out about half way through but took way too long to get to end. the performance did not help either.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Goes nowhere

The story had potential to be a good one but it leads you up to a finale that just ends and goes nowhere. There are so many characters that you can loose track because the narrator is very robotic as in a text to speech computer translator and the change in gender voices is so poor. the reveal at the end just kind of ended with no reaction or follow-up. The dialog between characters were very basic and child like sounding even between the adults. Some characters bickerered and it just went on and on.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What happened at the end?

So many open ended pieces that I feel like it was just shut down abruptly.

.