adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fight for freedom has sent Matt Drake to some of the world's most dangerous spots. This time the war is coming to his front door.

Broad daylight on an Austin, Texas, street and DIA operative Matt Drake is fighting for his life against a highly trained team of assassins. Who are they? Why do they want him dead? How will he protect those closest to him?

The answers will take him into some of the most dangerous spots in the Middle East and will put him in the clutches of an old foe known simply as the Devil. It's a world of double crosses, with no boundaries between the guilty and the innocent. It will take all of Drake's wiles to get out alive.

©2021 Don Bentley (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"[D]evoted action fans, will be right at home. All can benefit from Drake's insider tips: Get military pepper spray if you can; the commercial stuff is a powder puff." (Booklist)

“Bentley adds brains to the traditional brawn of yesteryear in crafting a thinking man's shoot-'em-up that keeps us on the edge of our seat from beginning to end.” (The Providence Journal)

"[A]nother super-charged, action-packed adventure that’s tailor-made for fans of Mark Greaney and Brad Taylor.... Gritty, timely, and packed with nonstop, heart-thumping action, Don Bentley’s The Outside Man is a must-read for fans of propulsive, unputdownable thrillers." (The Real Book Spy)

What listeners say about The Outside Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story, but keeps you hoping he will live.

Great story however in the interest of full disclosure I know Don personally. I would stack this up next to the Jack Reacher books or Orphan X. Don is a great story teller and I totally enjoyed his view of the world through Matt's eyes. It is sometimes a little stressful to listen to. He has so much bad luck. But you generally know he will survive! Can't wait for book 3!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Book

I really liked the first one in this series from Don Bentley and this one did not disappoint. I love that Matt isn't super human but still a hero. The story is action packed and totally hooked me till the end. All the characters are engaging and have depth. Really looking forward to more Matt Drake adventures!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved the characters so much I had to stop

I was so inthralled with the characters that at times I had to stop because I was worried about what would happen next. However the performance was lacking and I can't explain why.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good story - continuation of his prior book and even better

This book was hard to stop listening to. It grabs you and holds you until the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not his best

Don Bentley’s premier novel was better. This one is just silly. Hoping the characters in his next offering are more realistic.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

loved this book from beginning to end. Matt Drake is a compelling tough guy, the action throughout the book was amazing and the story lines were great. Cannot wait for book 3.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much detail on minor details.

The story line is good but the details are strung out way too much, way too many operation mistakes.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It grabs your attention and never lets it go

All characters are very well developed and the action doesn’t stop. I can’t wait for the next one. I want to see who shows up!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mediocre at best

A lot of unrealistic stuff happening and random saving of main character. Sentences were choppy and not always fluid. Okay, but I would not recommend it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not My Cup of Tea

The hero seems to be the only one who can do anything, and he does everything. Every other character is poorly written and one dimensional. Women only exist in this novel to be victims or to be saved by the protagonist who can do everything. The reader's voices for the female characters are absurd. And all of the foreign bad guys are stereotypes. This reads like a teenage "boy" fantasy of "real man," and its awful.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl
  • Carl
  • 03-24-21

great sequel

Great second novel. engaging story. main character internal monologue is fantastic. couldn't stop listening near the end. waiting patiently for book 3