1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fight for freedom has sent Matt Drake to some of the world's most dangerous spots. This time the war is coming to his front door.

Broad daylight on an Austin, Texas, street and DIA operative Matt Drake is fighting for his life against a highly trained team of assassins. Who are they? Why do they want him dead? How will he protect those closest to him?

The answers will take him into some of the most dangerous spots in the Middle East and will put him in the clutches of an old foe known simply as the Devil. It's a world of double crosses, with no boundaries between the guilty and the innocent. It will take all of Drake's wiles to get out alive.

©2021 Don Bentley (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"[D]evoted action fans, will be right at home. All can benefit from Drake's insider tips: Get military pepper spray if you can; the commercial stuff is a powder puff." (Booklist)

“Bentley adds brains to the traditional brawn of yesteryear in crafting a thinking man's shoot-'em-up that keeps us on the edge of our seat from beginning to end.” (The Providence Journal)

"[A]nother super-charged, action-packed adventure that’s tailor-made for fans of Mark Greaney and Brad Taylor.... Gritty, timely, and packed with nonstop, heart-thumping action, Don Bentley’s The Outside Man is a must-read for fans of propulsive, unputdownable thrillers." (The Real Book Spy)

What listeners say about The Outside Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story, but keeps you hoping he will live.

Great story however in the interest of full disclosure I know Don personally. I would stack this up next to the Jack Reacher books or Orphan X. Don is a great story teller and I totally enjoyed his view of the world through Matt's eyes. It is sometimes a little stressful to listen to. He has so much bad luck. But you generally know he will survive! Can't wait for book 3!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Book

I really liked the first one in this series from Don Bentley and this one did not disappoint. I love that Matt isn't super human but still a hero. The story is action packed and totally hooked me till the end. All the characters are engaging and have depth. Really looking forward to more Matt Drake adventures!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy crap

Literally one of the best spy-type thriller books I’ve had the pleasure of listening to. Gripping, chilling, spine tingling. Amazing. I am nearly at a loss for words. Highly highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome story

These books are great and they definitely keep you listening. I love the narrator overall… But his secondary voices are so frustrating! Why does everybody except the main character sound like some kind of congested robot?! He has such a great voice and I do love listening… But if there was someway for him to make all of the other men besides the main character not sound so frustrating it sure would help to listen ;-).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a awesome book

a awesome book keeps you right where you are and to finish it excitement, great characters, and great ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved the characters so much I had to stop

I was so inthralled with the characters that at times I had to stop because I was worried about what would happen next. However the performance was lacking and I can't explain why.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good story - continuation of his prior book and even better

This book was hard to stop listening to. It grabs you and holds you until the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not his best

Don Bentley’s premier novel was better. This one is just silly. Hoping the characters in his next offering are more realistic.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

loved this book from beginning to end. Matt Drake is a compelling tough guy, the action throughout the book was amazing and the story lines were great. Cannot wait for book 3.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much detail on minor details.

The story line is good but the details are strung out way too much, way too many operation mistakes.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathyb
  • Kathyb
  • 05-25-22

Story drawn out a little excessively

Lots of unnecessary detail here - and the hero had more lives than my cat! Was probably a good 250 page novel that was stretched out further. Narrator was awful (sorry). Next book is read by The amazing Scott Brick so will look forward to that one. Hope the story is more believable. All that said, was an entertaining book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl
  • Carl
  • 03-24-21

great sequel

Great second novel. engaging story. main character internal monologue is fantastic. couldn't stop listening near the end. waiting patiently for book 3