1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Palace of Lost Dreams  By  cover art

The Palace of Lost Dreams

By: Charlotte Betts
Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.

India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago.

As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy.

With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie....

©2018 Charlotte Betts (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic Reviews

"Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying." (Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter)

What listeners say about The Palace of Lost Dreams

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charlotte Betts never disappoints

Once again she tells an amazing story that makes me feel as if I am right there beside the character. A beautiful and touching story. Narrator did a wonderful job. Highly recommend this one!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisy
  • Daisy
  • 03-18-20

Captivating, atmospheric.

I’ve always longed to visit India. I loved the characters and the story. I felt I had walked the passageways of the Palace. And handled the fabrics.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SuzieC
  • SuzieC
  • 08-27-18

Terribly slow exceeding tedious

Such a slow book, boring to the extreme, hours and hours to unravel a very tedious story that could have been told in an hour. Predictable from the start and not worth the purchase, it actually stressed me out listening to it I’d drive to work for a couple of hours and nothing had happened by the time I got there. Would not recommend don’t waste your time/money