adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices - perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris.

London, 2017: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets - including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment’s walls.

Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn’t hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can’t know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come.

Set 75 years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must summon hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history - and their family’s futures - forever.

©2021 Kelly Bowen (P)2021 Forever

Critic Reviews

“Bowen draws on the lives of Nancy Wake and Josephine Baker and the 2018 discovery of a Paris apartment untouched since WWII in this rich historical tale. The stories unearthed in the apartment pique from the first page in this magnetic novel full of tragedy and rich characters.” (Publishers Weekly)

"Kelly Bowen creates an evocative and thrilling glimpse into the lives of two heroic women risking everything in occupied Paris during World War II. A dual-timeline connects past and present; a painting of a house, two matching pendants, and old photographs of a woman act as pivotal clues that bridge between the two, and fine works of art and a heartfelt love story between two people who were destined to meet brings the story full circle. A lovely aha moment at the end and the reminder to make one's life count will make this book and its characters linger long after the last page is turned. A beautiful novel for fans of The Nightingale." (Karen White, New York Times best-selling author of The Last Night in London)

“'A beautifully written cast of characters unraveling the mysteries and humanity of war. Enticing.” (Mandy Robotham, USA Today best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Paris Apartment

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for an Amazing story!

This book, was absolutely amazing. I am usually a reader of syfi or fantasy fiction, so this was out of my norm. I found this book by looking up one of the narrators Marisa Calin, and I am super glad I did. This book is going to go down as one of my favorite books I have ever read. I will also be buying the hard copy of it. This book brings you on a journey of 3 powerful women 2 of them in a time gone past and 1 as she goes through the modern world trying to piece together their story.

One of the things I love most about this book is that this author did not make these women weak and whiny. She did not make them dependent on a man. She made them strong independent women, who stood up for what they believed and fought for those who could not fight for themselves. Women who allowed themselves to feel the emotions of love and loss but never let those emotions over take them. Women who knew what was at stake and did everything in their power to make sure every crumb of information mattered, that every moment counted.

This book pulled you into the story and made you love these characters, and feel their emotions. And most of all this book felt complete. By the end of the story I was crying, both happy and sad tears but I was not left wanting or feeling as if I was missing something. This story is not something I will soon forget.


On a side note: I gave the performance 4 stars only because I dont like when there are multiple narrators only to read chapters from different points of views. But I was able to get through the book and for the most part didnt notice the change because I was so pulled into the book I didnt care.

41 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rich and compelling story!

This was a well crafted, layered story with rich characters. Reminded me of The Alice Network in its detail and twists. Narration was good though occasionally hard to discern what accent was being attempted. Still a wonderful story and well worth a credit! I wish for more like this!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceeded my expectations!

I was looking for something new and have an affinity for historical fiction. The modern setting (2017) of this story caught my interest. Interesting story and characters that kept my interest throughout. Definitely suggest this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good listen

Characters are well developed
Story is compelling
Historical research well done
The narrator was a bit breathy but lovely

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time! The story was riveting, painful, and thought provoking!

12 people found this helpful