1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Browsing an antiques shop in Wiltshire, Alison Bannister stumbles across a delicate old portrait - identified as the doomed Tudor queen Anne Boleyn. Except Alison knows better. The subject is Mary Seymour, the daughter of Katherine Parr, who was taken to Wolf Hall in 1557 and presumed dead after going missing as a child. And Alison knows this because she, too, lived at Wolf Hall and knew Mary...more than 400 years ago.

The painting of Mary is more than just a beautiful object for Alison - it holds the key to her past life, the unlocking of the mystery surrounding Mary’s disappearance and how Alison can get back to her own time. To when she and Mary were childhood enemies yet shared a pact that now, finally, must be fulfilled, no matter the cost.

Best-selling author of House of Shadows, Nicola Cornick offers a provocative alternate history of rivals, secrets, and danger, set in a time when a woman’s destiny was determined by the politics of men and luck of birth. A spellbinding tale for fans of Kate Morton, Philippa Gregory, and Barbara Erskine.

©2018 Nicola Cornick (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers, Limited

What listeners say about The Phantom Tree

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    608
  • 4 Stars
    303
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    663
  • 4 Stars
    202
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    540
  • 4 Stars
    244
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent! Best book I have read in a LONG time!

Great story! I am a big fan of time swap stories and this one fit the bill! I often struggle getting hooked on the beginning of a book but this one had my full attention right from the start. I thought that this book would be too predictable but I was wrong. lots of twists to keep your interest until the very last page. I was sad to finish this story and would love to know what happens next! The narrative was great and I would have given it 5 stars but I had to speed up some chapters as certain characters were voiced in a very slow manner. Otherwise I would have given it five stars all around! If you love historical romance and mystery with a modern twist then this book is for you

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Something different!

I loved this book! The story was well written and interesting all the way through. I'm going to try to find more by this author now!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly good

I love Tudor fiction and I love time travel stories. If you liked A Discovery of Witches you will like this, although it’s more realistic and doesn’t have vampires and witches. It’s more in the vein of Outlander in terms of realism. The narrator did a fine job and I enjoyed her performance.
The two main characters are women from the 16th century. One stays firmly put in that place and time while the other is a time traveler who gets stuck in the present day. Other than a few eyebrow raising impossibilities (a sprig of Rosemary would be dust after 400 years) the story was well developed and all the loose ends tied up neatly. The author doesn’t require her readers to think too incredibly hard and as long as you don’t question it too much,

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • TB
  • 02-17-19

To much focus on a weak romance tanks it

Book sucked me right in. The first 10 or so chapters are wonderful. Great mystery, great historical fiction. Then after that it pretty much becomes a full blown romance novel. I can enjoy a well written romance but this wasn’t that well written. It’s disappointing to be ripping through not wanting to put it down then after chapter 10 I thought about putting it down and never finishing a few times because it was so corny. I pushed through and finished but I would likely never read this again and never recommend it except to that one friend who can’t get enough of cheese ball romance.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great summer listen or read

Books with two narrators and two action streams often fall into the difficulty of one being more interesting than the other. Not this book. The stories of both Alison and Mary are based on enough urgency to keep the reader moving forward, wanting to know what happens next. Each woman is interesting in her own way, though Alison as a character is a little more believable. Mary makes some inconsistent switches, falling in and out of love instantly, suddenly becoming a sharper, smarter person with more resolve. But I decided just to go with it and enjoy the story.

I especially like the way the two women become allies due to circumstances rather than affectionate friends. Their reasons for working together help impel the action. At times when it looked like the plot was about to devolve into conventional, boring romance (good and bad), there were some nice twists.

On the down side, there are some irritating verbal ticks. I've never before encountered so many stomachs that dropped. Alison seems to apologize for something several times in every scene, especially with Adam. Suddenly toward the end, there's some swearing for emphasis. Swearing doesn't bother me at all, but it doesn't fit this book or the way the characters talked up until that moment. And as a way to illustrate strong emotion, it's false.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

I really liked this book, it had an amazing story and characters were well developed and interesting. I usually don’t write reviews but this book deserved one!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

the phantom tree

good. had trouble knowing which character the chapter was suppose to be about unless it said so and then could be difficult as all the voices sounded the same for each character.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Silly. inconsistent, sorta decent plot

My dislike for historical romance novels was reinforced. the idea was great. the writing average. If one is going to attempt to blend historical fiction with time travel, one should make sure gross inconsistencies are fixed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

horrible

Stupid, terrible story. I can't believe I listened to as much as I did. Stupid storyline, dumb characters. I was especially put off by the love-making and curse words. Mostly non-fiction with a few historical facts thrown in. Not worth the read.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal book

I listened to this in one day. I'm so glad I risked a credit on a new author.

I'm going to have to listen again tomorrow to make sure I've missed nothing.

Bravo.

And the narration was spot on.

3 people found this helpful