adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"This droll romp is a latter-day Miss Marple.” (Washington Post)

Murder leaps off the page when crime novelists begin to turn up dead in this intricate new novel by internationally best-selling author Elly Griffiths, a literary mystery perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie.

The death of a 90-year-old woman with a heart condition should not be suspicious. Detective Sergeant Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing out of the ordinary when Peggy’s caretaker, Natalka, begins to recount Peggy Smith’s passing.

But Natalka had a reason to be at the police station: While clearing out Peggy’s flat, she noticed an unusual number of crime novels, all dedicated to Peggy. And each psychological thriller included a mysterious postscript: PS: for PS. When a gunman breaks into the flat to steal a book and its author is found dead shortly thereafter - Detective Kaur begins to think that perhaps there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

And then things escalate: From an Aberdeen literary festival to the streets of Edinburgh, writers are being targeted. DS Kaur embarks on a road trip across Europe and reckons with how exactly authors can think up such realistic crimes...

©2021 Elly Griffiths (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

CrimeReads Pick

What listeners say about The Postscript Murders

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Convoluted and nonsensical

I love Harbinder and the narrator did an amazing job but a great premise turned into a ridiculous resolution with an unbelievable motive and an even less believable investigation conducted by a bunch of misfits who have better detective skills than the police. Disappointing listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Can’t wait for next book in this series
Love these charters, hope they are the next book

Vet enjoyable !

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A disappointment

I loved the first book in this series but this one fell short. In general the characters are still interesting but the murder mystery part was not.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NH
  • 05-30-21

Wonderful characters and story!

A super fun and entertaining audiobook, expertly narrated and with a great plot. Highly recommended!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid Follow Up!

I was really looking forward to this after listening Stranger Diaries and it did not disappoint. The reader did a great job with all the different characters and kept me really engaged.

I hope there’s more to come for Harbinder!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not Griffiths’ best, but enjoyable.

The narrator does a brilliant job with the different accents and ages of the characters. Indian, Ukrainian, British — all are done very well. The story itself is interesting and the Scotland scenery picturesque. The resolution is confusing, with numerous victims and more than one murderer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a good listen

With many references to other mysteries and authors (fictional and historical), this is a review of the genre within a very good story. The characters were entertaining and the performance was pitch perfect.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK.

A caretaker is suspicious when her elderly "murder consultant" charge dies leaving a collection of murder mystery books dedicated to her. Then the writers of these books start dying.

A diversity of quirky characters. Inclusive of race and gender, ethnicity and sexuality orientation. Not exactly a page-turner. Some humor. Cozy. Too cozy. I did tune out at times and didn't feel like I missed anything.

A picture of the publishing industry was more intriguing for me than the story.

I thought the performance was better than the story. She brought out the humor in situations and dialog.

Overall, It was OK, but not a book I'd read a second time. I'm afraid I'm in the minority here but it didn't make me want to seek out any other books by the same author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written and well read

Some books I can't get into because of the reader, but this woman did a very good job of voicing different characters without becoming annoying. The book wasn't perfect, but I enjoyed getting to know the characters.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Plot a little weak, but . . .

Yes, improbable leeway given to amateur citizen-detectives, and the resolutions at the end feel like they're held together with chewing gum.

But I don't care. I love the characters, especially Harbinder, Neil and Harbinder's father and mother.

I felt similarly about the previous book (Stranger Diaries). The plot was weakened by the intrusive R. M. Holland, and the ending was not believable. But I enjoyed the characters--Harbinder, Clare, Georgie (somewhat), and Harbinder's partner Neil--so much that when the Postcript Murders came out, I bought it in an instant without waiting for reviews.

And I'll do the same when book 3 in the series comes out.