• The Postscript Murders

  • By: Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by: Nina Wadia
  • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (341 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Murder leaps off the page when crime novelists begin to turn up dead in this intricate new novel by internationally best-selling author Elly Griffiths, a literary mystery perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie.

The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should not be suspicious. Detective Sergeant Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing out of the ordinary when Peggy's caretaker, Natalka, begins to recount Peggy Smith's passing. 

But Natalka had a reason to be at the police station: while clearing out Peggy's flat, she noticed an unusual number of crime novels, all dedicated to Peggy. And each psychological thriller included a mysterious postscript: PS: for PS. When a gunman breaks into the flat to steal a book and its author is found dead shortly thereafter—Detective Kaur begins to think that perhaps there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

And then things escalate: from an Aberdeen literary festival to the streets of Edinburgh, writers are being targeted. DS Kaur embarks on a road trip across Europe and reckons with how exactly authors can think up such realistic crimes . . .

©2021 Elly Griffiths (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

CrimeReads Pick

What listeners say about The Postscript Murders

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Convoluted and nonsensical

I love Harbinder and the narrator did an amazing job but a great premise turned into a ridiculous resolution with an unbelievable motive and an even less believable investigation conducted by a bunch of misfits who have better detective skills than the police. Disappointing listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Can’t wait for next book in this series
Love these charters, hope they are the next book

Vet enjoyable !

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid Follow Up!

I was really looking forward to this after listening Stranger Diaries and it did not disappoint. The reader did a great job with all the different characters and kept me really engaged.

I hope there’s more to come for Harbinder!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NH
  • 05-30-21

Wonderful characters and story!

A super fun and entertaining audiobook, expertly narrated and with a great plot. Highly recommended!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A disappointment

I loved the first book in this series but this one fell short. In general the characters are still interesting but the murder mystery part was not.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a good listen

With many references to other mysteries and authors (fictional and historical), this is a review of the genre within a very good story. The characters were entertaining and the performance was pitch perfect.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not Griffiths’ best, but enjoyable.

The narrator does a brilliant job with the different accents and ages of the characters. Indian, Ukrainian, British — all are done very well. The story itself is interesting and the Scotland scenery picturesque. The resolution is confusing, with numerous victims and more than one murderer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gentle, thoroughly entertaining murder mystery

Charming characters. Perfect narration for the story. Peppered with wry meta-jokes about the genre that had me laughing out loud.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful cosy mystery!

I heard the author's interview on my local PBS station. She got the idea for this book from her aunt who calls her with ideas for murdering someone. I was intrigued and I was not disappointed! Such a wonderful range of characters and a well written plot will keep you guessing until the end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great group of characters

I enjoyed this book. Interesting turns, a few red herrings and surprises. Really liked the lead character.

1 person found this helpful