• The Prisoner's Dilemma

  • Liberty of Death, Book 1
  • By: Joe Kassabian
  • Narrated by: Tim Paige
  • Length: 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When the Galaxy is on fire, there are no heroes....

Vincent Solaris is a teenager drifting through life who manages to graduate Ethics School by the skin of his teeth. His unplanned future changes dramatically when he is arrested and charged with crimes against the Central Committee after a night of drinking.

While he escapes the gallows, Vincent is sentenced to three years of service in the Earth Defense Forces. 

Vincent is sent off to train, thinking that he'll simply spend the next few years lazing away at the edges of human-controlled space. This idea is shattered when a mysterious alien army attacks.

On his way to the far-flung killing fields of war, Vincent meets Fiona, a Martian gangster serving a life sentence. Together, they must find a way to survive against the most terrifying foe that humanity has ever faced.

Experience the start of a debut military sci-fi series from army veteran Joe Kassabian. It's perfect for fans of Galaxy's Edge, Rick Partlow, and Josh Hayes.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about The Prisoner's Dilemma

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Miltary

I loved this book. it was the science fiction book I didn't know I needed.

The narrator in this series is actually really good and I really liked Tim Paige, the characters voices were all different and you could tell them apart. Tim's voice wasn't annoying or anything and I wished book 2 was out just so I can listen too more of him.
The was no narration problems or technical difficulties, this book was narrated perfectly.

I really liked the science fiction part if this book, I don't usually get books like this and I really loved this one. I feel like other science fiction fans will like this book also.
I also love the military aspect, You never really get books like that and usually when you do there bad. The last one I listened to where the Mc was in the military was iron prince. The military in this book was something I really liked and I want it in more books.

Thus story is set in a time where a "chairman" is the dictator or the world, he controls everything and the humans basically live in a dictatorship. Our mc writes in his ethics book after graduating and us sentenced too death, his friend sticks up for him and he's ends up getting sent off world for 3 years. That's where Vincent's story starts.

I really liked the romance in this story and the way its portrayed. I feel like it's better than most books and it has too be one of my favorite parts of thus book.

I don't like the introduction too new characters just to kill them off, first he has his friends before this all happens and he ends up leaving them, then he meets knew people and basically all of his new friends and companions die later in the book. This is something I don't like but it's also something that most books don't do, Usually if a friend dies in the series you know he's gonna come back or he's not dead. it wasn't like that in this book and I give him props for that.

I really liked the fighting and the way it was portrayed, this book has alot of action and fighting in it so you never get bored. One reason of the reasons I liked the fighting is: I liked the science fiction part of it. It's all guns and close combat which is really cool and something I liked.

The plot could've been better, I felt like there was some plot holes and It lacked the depth I was looking for. The story was good but I can't say it was my favorite. I also felt like the story was rushed and I it could've been better.
I like the premise tho, I feel like it was a good idea and if the story and plot would've been better it would of got a 5 star.

World building and world detail is good, I really like how the world is explained and the detail put into it. The way the world is built and how it works is also really cool and I loved it.
The characters were also really likeable and cool, I didn't find any of them annoying or anything like that. The Mc was relatable and really down too earth.

I also really liked the ending.

I can't wait for book 2 and I think the author did really good with this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent sci-fi. Great action

good narrator telling a captivating story.
humanity is no longer just on earth.
unfortunately freedom is dead.
next comes getting swept up in a multi-species war

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard C
  • Richard C
  • 06-28-22

Fantastic start to a series

An interesting backdrop to the story. Almost starship troopers, Fahrenheit 451 style totalitarian government. I almost expected the prompt "do you want to know more?". But against this world backdrop the author takes the story in his own unique and different twists.

Enjoyed it and will be looking forward to the next in the series when it comes out.

The narrator was very good and clear to follow.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Iain Campbell
  • Iain Campbell
  • 06-14-22

A good read / listen

I hadn't heard of either the author or narrator prior to Aethon offering me a free code for this title.

An enjoyable take on military sci-fi, and a stark warning of the dangers of a society, falling into a dictatorship that lies to the people and expects blind obedience.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James Scott
  • James Scott
  • 06-01-22

Very Orwell

I am not sure if it was me, but I found this book very 1984 and Fahrenheit 451. Both books I enjoyed so I this was a hit.