1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick!

A fun and flirty novel from New York Times best seller Jasmine Guillory, author of The Wedding Date and one of Cosmopolitan's 33 Books to Get Excited About in 2018.

For fans of Jo Watson, Sarah Morgan and Holly Martin, about the perils of public proposals and the beauty of an unexpected second chance. 

When freelance writer Nikole Paterson goes to a Dodgers game in LA with her actor boyfriend, the last thing she expects is a scoreboard proposal. Saying no isn't difficult - they've been dating for only five months, and he can't even spell her name correctly. The hard part is having to face a stadium full of disappointed fans.... 

At the game with his sister, Carlos Ibarra comes to Nik's rescue and rushes her away from a camera crew. He's even there for her when the video goes viral and Nik's social media goes crazy. Believing that neither of them are looking for anything serious, Nik embarks on an epic rebound with the handsome doctor, filled with food, fun and fantastic sex. But when their glorified hookups start breaking the rules, will they be brave enough to admit what they're really feeling?

©2018 Jasmine Guillory (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"What a charming, warm, sexy gem of a novel." (New York Times best-selling author Roxane Gay on The Wedding Date)

What listeners say about The Proposal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqueline Torr
  • Jacqueline Torr
  • 03-15-21

A lovely sequel

Enjoyed Carlos and Nik's story almost as much as drew and alexa's and have now just started Maddie and Theo's in book 3!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hayley Park
  • Hayley Park
  • 07-29-21

Couldn't even finish this book!

Great narrator but the story was very predictable and made me cringe. I wasn't attached to the lead female character at all and had no interest in what happened to any of them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 07-21-21

Brilliant!!

For my first audio book it was absolutely brilliant.
I’m actually sad it’s over but definitely enjoyed any second of it.
Definitely worth a listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs N L Pereira
  • Mrs N L Pereira
  • 05-01-21

easy read

A bit repetitive in places. made me laugh out loud. Romantic but not over gushy

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V
  • V
  • 09-03-20

So bad

I can’t believe I listened to the end. This is a very poorly written book. Nothing at all happens.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N
  • N
  • 09-03-20

A Massive Disappointment.

This book came highly recommended and I was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately it didn’t even remotely live up to the hype. It’s so poorly written, predictable and full of cliches that it feels jarring at times and has no narrative flow. The characters lack any depth, I found it impossible to feel anything other than mild irritation about them.
I didn’t enjoy the narration either but I’m not sure how much that has to do with the narrator or the poor writing.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonia
  • Sonia
  • 06-05-20

Poorly written, repetitive and boring

Gave up at chap 11 nothing remotely interesting happens. Feels like it goes on forever, no mystery no intrigue, just a couple going on boring dates where nothing ever happens waste of time

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for WriterGirl
  • WriterGirl
  • 04-02-20

Enjoyable follow up

Loved the fact that Carlos got his own story after reading The Wedding Date. It was a nice read and liked the fact that the characters felt like people I know.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dee
  • Dee
  • 02-02-20

Easy

An enjoyable that requires no effort. Listen to chance encounters. Jasmine Guillory has a formula that works and I'm able to predict what will happen next but I like that. Some books are pure birds tweeting and coy smiles before the passion. Totally relaxing. Just switch off the rest of life and enjoy a sweet romance and then if you're like me, you might even dream about your own:)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SCL
  • SCL
  • 07-21-19

Good fun

An easy listen once I got used to the narrator. Her character voices were a bit off putting.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-21-21

Great

Another great book by Jasmine! Definitely check out her other books that link other characters.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracie Kershaw
  • Tracie Kershaw
  • 06-13-21

Awkward

Gave up midway - the main caharacterr is all a bit awkward and try hard. I found it more suitable to teenage reading.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-26-21

Didn't connect with the main character

I'm not one to judge a character until I finish the very last page, but I was seriously disappointed.
Nik didn't click with me – I didn't like her character and I just felt like it was completely a miss.
Her personality was a bit too much for me, some situations were VERY awkward and I felt as though at times she was trying too much.
Her jokes and some plots flew over my head, and it took me a span of 3 weeks to finish the book.

*spoilers*
Others may enjoy her personality, but her prejudice towards ALL doctors (especially a pediatrician) over an ex who was a surgeon (?) OR 'instantly feeling better' because Drew's fiancee was "black too" & surprised no one 'told her' – her not talking to her friends because she didn't want them to be "right", to the point where she stressed herself out – especially telling Carlos not to 'tell her what to do', or 'tell her what to eat' when he knew more (eg. cooking & he has an overprotective personality, who can blame him for suggesting her to change a lock??) than her, because 'he's a guy' was seriously tedious.

(This is my opinion, respect it.)

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-01-20

Fine, but lacking.

Not enough drama or conflict, there's nothing really exciting about the story or characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-28-20

Loved it! The perfect quarantine listen

I sorted some comments on narration and was surprised - but I listen at 1.5 speed - and it was perfect! Snappy, sparky, fast paced - and the female lead was like looking in a mirror 😂

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-28-19

Not for me

Story is banal. Narration is grating with its overly cutesy and confiding style. Chick lit at its lamest.