• The Rainbow

  • Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction Based on a True Story
  • By: Carly Schabowski
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (137 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

There, on the dusty floorboards, was a piece of paper, folded neatly. A newspaper article, written in German, alongside a faded picture of two men in Nazi uniforms staring at the camera. I was about to place it back in the box of forgotten things when something in the text jumped out at me. My breath caught in my chest. I know that name.

London, present day. Isla has grown up hearing her beloved grandad’s stories about his life as a child in pre-war Poland and as a young soldier bravely fighting the Germans to protect his people. So she is shocked and heartbroken to find, while collecting photos for his 95th birthday celebration, a picture of her dear grandfather wearing a Nazi uniform. Is everything she thought she knew about him a lie?

Unable to question him due to his advanced dementia, Isla wraps herself in her rainbow-coloured scarf, a memento of his from the war, and begins to hunt for the truth behind the photograph. What she uncovers is more shocking than she could have ever anticipated - a tale of childhood sweethearts torn apart by family duty, and how one young man risked his life, his love, and the respect of his own people, to secretly fight for justice from inside the heart of the enemy itself....

A heartbreaking novel of love, betrayal, and a secret passed down through a family. Inspired by an incredible true story. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

©2021 Carly Schabowski (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Rainbow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Captivating Book of War and Love

I am so glad I listened to this book. I have read and listened to so many World War 11 books that I keep telling myself not to listen and read anymore, but this book has magic, bravery, love, and yes sadness. I will buy a copy of it and give it to my daughter who doesn’t like to listen to books but hold them in her hand.
I suggest you give it a try.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

intriguing and entertaining

seemed slow at first . had a difficult time getting into it. But after a chapter or 2, I was hooked. beautiful, sad, and encouraging story. it makes some sense in the lives of the people with what happened and the Nazi Germans and their attacks . All involved were real people, and this story intertwines them, makes it very sad for some or angry at others. It definitely helps you to understand what they went through and why some did what did. I truly enjoyed the different voices of the narrator that brought many different characters to life. Couldn't stop listening.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very touching

The narrator was great, and the story had a nice steady pace to it. Very enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extremely moving

The story is well told, very visual-I could almost see it all unfolding. The thought of this happening to people is heartbreaking and deserves to be shared.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart rendering

The story was so powerful and felt very real I could see each person and feel their emotions. i highly recommend this story the author and the narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not very interesting just blah

I was hoping for some really good historical fiction but it reads more like a harlequin romance. Just trite and boring. Everything so neatly rolled up in a nice little package.
I didn’t really enjoy the narration either. I tried to return the Book mid read but it wouldn’t let me because I had done the same thing with my previous book.
Just not a very descriptive book, it was just event after event after event… no contemplation no moral to the story. Not that I could see.
I don’t know I just didn’t enjoy this.
Not worth a credit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

This is another great historical fiction book. Very happy about that as there are so many that are not good.
The story was interesting and I didn’t mind the flashback as most are. Easy to follow. Characters are well described and not hard to follow.
I highly recommend to any historical fiction lover.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Totally not worth one star and couldn’t submit without hitting them

I have read and listened to many historical fiction stories of world war 11
Sadly this book was one of the worst. The author of this book made her characters seem weak and for the most part ridiculous.
I really dislike writing negative reviews but with this one I felt compelled to do so it was truly a waste of time and money.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs margaret y beckett
  • mrs margaret y beckett
  • 01-30-22

review

this was a story so well written you could 'live' through the events and even predict some of them

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christineb
  • Christineb
  • 09-14-21

Boring and tedious

I'm not sure how realistic it is for a professional woman to suddenly decide to investigate her grandfather's life and it was so tedious and predictable I wasn't impressed with the story

.