• The Royal Ranger: Escape from Falaise

  • Ranger's Apprentice, Book 5
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (525 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in the fifth installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

After their plan to rescue the prince of Gallica has gone horribly wrong, Will Treaty and his apprentice, Maddie, are being held captive at the Chateau des Falaises in Gallica. The dangerous baron Lassigny is intent on keeping them - and the prince - no matter what. But Will and Maddie are determined to escape.

If they ever want to return to their home, they’ll have to find ways to outwit the baron and get outside the locked tower. When friends from home endeavor to find their own way to help, it seems escape is closer than ever. But the dirty tricks of the baron are no laughing matter.

Facing dangerous threats, battles with knights, and a new and risky plot to save the prince - the odds are stacked against them. But the Rangers will use all the tools of their trade to save themselves and save the day.

Internationally best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: Escape from Falaise. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones!

©2021 John F. Flanagan (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Royal Ranger: Escape from Falaise

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    440
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    428
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    380
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's good, but not John Flanagan's best

As a story, The Missing Prince and Escape From Falaise are good. It's like a hearty beef stew - nothing fancy to blow you away but it leaves you satisfied and feeling good. However, when you compare it to Sorcerer Of The North and Siege of Macindaw, or The Caldera, it falls flat. Maddie and Will are a good team, so are Horace and Halt, and fans will enjoy seeing them together. During the story, Maddie gets an amazing moment of glory in combat which is one of the book's best moments. However, Lassigny is a rather poor villan; he is cruel, conniving, cowardly, and boring. Keren was interesting and human, and you even felt sorry when he was defeated. Lassigny was uninspired and that is really the larger issue with Flanagan's recent books. They feel more manufactured than crafted and lack the energy and inspiration of previous books. Even the dialog and chitchat between characters that was the soul of the previous books feels somehow lesser here. As a lover of RA, I did genuinely enjoy this story and John Keating's always brilliant narration, however it just isn't as good as the series in its prime. I feel like John Flanagan needs to shake things up a bit because they're getting stale.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

I’m ten I love this books so much I also really like the narrator!😁😄😃 awesome books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent conclusion, can't wait for the next one.

Loved it. John Flanagan has a way with adding suspense and humor to every story. The sword play, arrow shooting and sling throwing were right on target, you know Rangers practice until they don't get it wrong.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series and amazing narrator

Love the series. John Flanagan is an amazing author, and the narrator, John Keating, is the best! Listened to all 26 books and short stories in the Ranger’s Apprentice, The Early Years, Brotherband, and The Royal Ranger series, and short stories. Sad this is the last book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING!

This book is amazing, you should get it. But you really should read/listen to the other ones before this one. All of them are good, narrator is AMAZING! Everything about this book is amazing! Thanks for reading!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good series

I have listened to all of the ranger books now. I had read that there will be one more Royal Ranger book coming in November 2020. This is One Of My Favorite!!! I really like the way the books are simple enough to follow with ease, there is challenging vocabulary from time to time that sparks the interest to research and how the main characters display high levels of ethics and choose good values.

I wish it wasn't the end! now I have to find another series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent in all ways

I throughly enjoyed the story and performance. I highly recommend it for audiences of all ages.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As Expected

I have yet to hear a Ranger Apprentice/Royal Ranger book that was bad. John Keating does a really good job of narrating them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Nice addition to the Rangers series of books. we're always bummed when they end as we know there will be a wait for the next, but we end up listening to all of Flanagan's books multiple times.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ME
  • 01-23-22

One of my son's favorite series.

My son has been enamored with the series since reading the first book and reading or listening to the rest. He was thrilled to learn there were more but still sadly disappointed that the rumors of a movie did not come to fruition.

Thank you though for providing clean enjoyable entertainment for my family.