adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in the fifth installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

After their plan to rescue the prince of Gallica has gone horribly wrong, Will Treaty and his apprentice, Maddie, are being held captive at the Chateau des Falaises in Gallica. The dangerous baron Lassigny is intent on keeping them - and the prince - no matter what. But Will and Maddie are determined to escape.

If they ever want to return to their home, they’ll have to find ways to outwit the baron and get outside the locked tower. When friends from home endeavor to find their own way to help, it seems escape is closer than ever. But the dirty tricks of the baron are no laughing matter.

Facing dangerous threats, battles with knights, and a new and risky plot to save the prince - the odds are stacked against them. But the Rangers will use all the tools of their trade to save themselves and save the day.

Internationally best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: Escape from Falaise. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones!

©2021 John F. Flanagan (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Royal Ranger: Escape from Falaise

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's good, but not John Flanagan's best

As a story, The Missing Prince and Escape From Falaise are good. It's like a hearty beef stew - nothing fancy to blow you away but it leaves you satisfied and feeling good. However, when you compare it to Sorcerer Of The North and Siege of Macindaw, or The Caldera, it falls flat. Maddie and Will are a good team, so are Horace and Halt, and fans will enjoy seeing them together. During the story, Maddie gets an amazing moment of glory in combat which is one of the book's best moments. However, Lassigny is a rather poor villan; he is cruel, conniving, cowardly, and boring. Keren was interesting and human, and you even felt sorry when he was defeated. Lassigny was uninspired and that is really the larger issue with Flanagan's recent books. They feel more manufactured than crafted and lack the energy and inspiration of previous books. Even the dialog and chitchat between characters that was the soul of the previous books feels somehow lesser here. As a lover of RA, I did genuinely enjoy this story and John Keating's always brilliant narration, however it just isn't as good as the series in its prime. I feel like John Flanagan needs to shake things up a bit because they're getting stale.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent conclusion, can't wait for the next one.

Loved it. John Flanagan has a way with adding suspense and humor to every story. The sword play, arrow shooting and sling throwing were right on target, you know Rangers practice until they don't get it wrong.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

sound engineer/editor needs to do better

love these stories! and have enjoyed the narrator in other performances but the sound engineer and editor did a horrid job of filtering out his breathing/inhalation while reading and its horribly distracting. More noticeable at some times then others but very aggravating.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great as Always

I've been reading this series since I was 15 and I look forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rangers Apprentice

This is the best book series I've read in a super long time I listened to every single one of these and I would have no problem doing it again. the narrator is amazing for all the books and the stories are gold.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 12-13-21

Vary good

I really enjoy the Rangers apprentice series and I think this book was no exception. It was very enjoyable and I felt like it wrapped up the whole thing in a nice bow. I also likes the writing style in this book

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

short & lacking depth compared to others in series

This book was short. That would be ok if it had accomplished story development and depth in that short space. But, compared to ther other books in the series, this one was lacking.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

More

Make movies and make more books but love it a looooot so please make more books and movies

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exactly no less than one would expect

Heroes to emulate; balance among genders; humor to remind us that this is entertainment. No diminishment in Flanagan's ability to spin a story that one will not regret reading.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good book

Overall, I did enjoy this book. I wish I could give 4.5 stars instead of 4 or 5 because I don’t believe it truly deserves either. The story was generally appealing, though like many books, had some slow parts. And unfortunately, those slower parts nearly put me to sleep… the ending is decent, though I felt like the story dragged in places, particularly at the ending and then the book came to a close rather abruptly. Overall, I love John Flanagan’s books and would recommend them to almost anyone