• The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan

  • Ranger's Apprentice
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,354 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan  By  cover art

The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan

By: John Flanagan
Narrated by: John Keating
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, beginning a new story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger). 

Picking up where Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.  

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?  

Best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

©2018 John Flanagan (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

 "[W]ill leave readers waiting impatiently for book three." (Booklist)

What listeners say about The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,140
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,087
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    999
  • 4 Stars
    142
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Half a book!

Love the series but this one is somewhat disappointing it ends half way through the story. Not even a partial resolve leading up to the chase book that often comes with the ranger stories.

And no suprizes in the plot to speak of.

If you haven't bought it yet wait for the next books release before you get stuck waiting for an ending.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Time to wait

If you notice the only thing people can say about the book negatively is that it ends on a to be continued. Lets be honest, when it comes to a series like this it is always a good thing to know more books are on the way, especially when pt 1 is the same length as a typical rangers apprentice.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

only half a story

wish I would of known only 1/2 of story I would of waited till next book was out

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing

The Royal Apprentice series books have been incredible disappointing – instead of cunning “bad guys” and using character training and tactical skills to defeat the “bad guys” it comes down to buffoonery by the main characters to create tension and the desired situations the author wanted set up. The only ones who don’t look like buffoons are members of the Brother Band. I figured somethings were too obvious and predictable to actually come to pass in the book, but the author, after contriving blunders by the main characters and other “reasons”, actually forces them into fruition. Many words are sometimes used to try justifying a certain action, or lack of action, by the characters. Tactical strategy is very weak in this one. Since when did strangers know an area better than someone who grew up in the area, so that the latter gets lost, while the former have no problems? Overall, I loved the earlier Rangers Apprentice, Brother Band, and Early Years books (a few cringe-worthy sections, but mostly very engaging and creative story-telling), but the last Brother Band, and Royal Ranger books increasingly leave me cringing and scratching my head in bafflement.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

this is only half a book.

if you're going to charge full price for a book you should tell the full story. There is nothing worse than investing time and money into a book only to hear the words to be continued at the end. I don't mind a story continuing along in a series but this is ridiculous. There is absolutely no reason to end this book where you did other than pure greed.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 12-07-18

Disappointed - Missing the end!!!

This is a chapter book without all the chapters. Was the author not finished with the book? Why publish a partial book?
I was enjoying the narrator and the book had enough perils and interesting characters. I just hate partial stories in the guise of a full book.

I may not ever choose this author again because of this. This was my first book by John Flanagan. Does he always leave with the story unresolved?

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little disappointed

I’ve been listening to this series for over 6 years. This is the first time I thought John Flanagan dropped the ball. One of the things that’s beginning to bother me is the increase of conversations with the horses. I know I know I like some of it too but a 1/4 of the dialogue came from the rangers just talking to the horses!
Anyway I’m just not crazy about the way he wrote this one. Just doesn’t feel right and totally made me raise an eyebrow a few times. Cliffhangers ok when you do it right but this didn’t even land in a spot that makes sense. I’m not saying don’t listen to it! But be prepared for a weird ending!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

To be continued???

Since when do these books end in "... to be continued?" Feels like a cash grab just to string you along and spend your money to get the rest of the story. The story is good, but much of the first book felt like filler going over well known into for anyone who's read the previous books. Also, it cuts off right at the point when it starts to get interesting and anything worthwhile is happening . Shane on you John for taking the route of "swindler"!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING Loved it!!

Review by my son: Amazing story! Extremely happy and did not disappoint after following the books since I was a little kid.
Very clean! (Great for Christians)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

UNRESOLVED

Somewhat entertaining story, so far as it goes. I won't include a spoiler here, but readers generally expect a conclusion to Fiction books. This one just ends -- abruptly, with no resolution whatsoever. It's a cheap ploy to entice readers/listeners to purchase the next release.

It's a matter of much personal preference, but I did not care for the narrator.

This is not John Flanagan's best effort.

1 person found this helpful