adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.31

Buy for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The International Best Seller.

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen a case it took him twenty years to forget.

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - 15-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. 

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

©2018 Dervla McTiernan (P)2018 Little Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"An excellent story, very well written...this one was a winner for me." (Alex Gray, author of the William Lorimer series)
"Excellently written and at times, heart-catchingly sad." (Marian Keyes)
"Heartbreaking and heart-stopping." (Caz Frear)

What listeners say about The Ruin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Thriller

A page-turner. All the characters are full of life in the middle of a very interesting week, where old murders, office politics, life decisions and events that make or break carriers happen every second. And the reader is right in the middle of that with characters you would love to know everything about, but the writer keeps information from you in order to keep the suspense going. Do yourself a favour: turn whatever you’re doing into an exciting experience by listening to this during it. Worth every minute spent with it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good

liked it was intrigued all the way the way through, want to listen to the next ones now

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Started slow but absolutely worth every second

It starts quite slow, before Chapter 6 it's really unclear how anything could possibly be connected, but given how complex and detailed everything turns out to be in the end it was well worth it. I had already listed to a previous book by the same author, The Sisters, that I was impressed by, so knew there must be good reason and pheeeew. It's really great writing, that is very well performed, strongly recommended for crime readers!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent read

Two timelines and two seemingly separate story lines converge seamlessly into a great read. Great writing, further enhanced by the superb narration. In fact, if I could give the performance more stars I would.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-21-18

Amazing

One of the best books I listen to. Throughly enjoyed it. Will definitely be recommending this.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jus Shemare
  • Jus Shemare
  • 03-11-18

Riveting

Really enjoyed this book. The narration and story compelling. Can’t wait for the next book

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel
  • Rachel
  • 09-27-18

Great Stuart on a new series.

Since this was the first in the series, the author took a bit longer to fill in the characters, but once it got cracking it was hard to put down. I'm looking forward to Book 2.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-29-18

Next Chapter please, can't wait for 2019!

Loved it from start to finish, made me long for Galway, Cormac's got his work cut out for him! Multi case load, like it, loved it.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bernie - Chorley
  • Bernie - Chorley
  • 10-16-18

Excellent!

Couldn't put this down, totally gripped from start to finish.
Great storyine, likeable & believable main character, DS Reilly. Great new author and hopefully more of the same to come. Disappointed we have to wait until 2019 for next in the series.
Excellent narration as ever from Aoife MacMahon.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs F.
  • Mrs F.
  • 08-04-18

Superb 1st novel

Combination of story line and narration makes for a compelling and memorable 'listen.' Can't wait for the 2nd book in the series !

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chester Gunn
  • Chester Gunn
  • 04-17-18

Competent story, slow character building

This is a book from a new author with a great potential. The story itself is good enough, but for my tastes it is too slow to start, and well over the first half of the book is spent getting the story nowhere at all. That could have been totally forgiveable if the time hadde been spent buldring an intriguing set of characters. But unfortunately it is a bit of a miss in this regard.

I get the feeling that the author really loves this main character - but she doesn't manage to convince me that I should love him. I am not really a fan of books where the main character has a major flaw or a gimmick to him/her, but this book is a bit too careful in the character building. This results in a main protagonist who is very vanilla and uninteresting. This makes me sad, because I was really rooting for Cormac to be a great guy. I got the same feeling for Aisling (spelling?). I wanted her to be great too, but she seemed to be mostly sad and tired all the time. Maybe if there had been a more empowering progression arc she would become the great, strong character I feel she deserves to be.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. M. Makki
  • M. M. Makki
  • 05-16-18

Gripping

One of the best thrillers I have heard on Audible. Very exciting but with a minimum of gore and believable characters.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for agnes hackett
  • agnes hackett
  • 03-21-19

Ruin

This is truly a work of art , catches the attention right from the opening chapter
Dervla McTiernan an is an amazing author .
I felt I was back in that wind and rain in Galway walks g down Shop Street

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-29-18

Excellent

This was one of the best audio books I've listened to. Brilliant story excellently read, 5 stars!

4 people found this helpful