• The Runes of Destiny

  • A sweepingly romantic and thrillingly epic timeslip adventure
  • By: Christina Courtenay
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Series: Runes, Book 2
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance, Historical
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Echoes of the Runes comes a thrilling new timeslip novel, filled with adventure and romance, perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.

Separated by time. Brought together by fate.

Indulging her fascination for the Viking language and getting her hands dirty with an archaeological dig is just what Linnea Berger needs to take her mind off her recent trauma. Uncovering an exquisite brooch, she blacks out reading the runic inscription, only to come to surrounded by men in Viking costume who seem to take re-enactment very seriously.

Lost and confused, Linnea finds herself in the power of Hrafn, a Viking warrior who claims her as his thrall and takes her on a treacherous journey across the seas to sell her for profit. As they set sail, she is forced to confront the unthinkable: she has somehow travelled back to the ninth century.

Linnea is determined to find a way back to her own time, but there's a connection forming with Hrafn that she can't shake. Underneath his hard exterior, he is brave, clever and caring - not to mention attractive. Can she resist the call of the runes and accept her destiny lies here with Hrafn?

Don't miss Christina's pacy, evocative and romantic dual-time novel, Echoes of the Runes, out now.

©2020 Christina Courtenay (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Runes of Destiny

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well written story well read

I read another book by the same author and was impressed with how well researched the book was. this one was no different, clearly well researched and although I'm no expert in Vikings it seems like it could be accurate. likewise the performance, I'm no expert in old Norse or Swedish but the words seem well pronounced and the story was clearly read. definitely will be on the look out for more books by this author!

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S A Webb
  • S A Webb
  • 03-10-21

Great fantasy

Superb story. So well written. Really enjoyable non-stop page turner. Didnt want it to end

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Munchkin1971
  • Munchkin1971
  • 01-08-22

A little bit too "fairytale"

I actually thoroughly enjoyed the middle of this book; the details of ancient norse and viking history were amazing and the storyline itself was great. The beginning (and end), with the time travel of a magic brooch very nearly made me stop listening. I'm glad I continued however and hope the rest of the books are a little more believable. I feel the author is trying to emulate Barbara Erskine but failing...Erskine does months of historical research to ensure her books are not "too much fairytale". She will always be my favourite author of historical crossed with supernatural books, but this new (to me) author could come a close second. Time will tell, as I shall finish this series; at least that is my intention at present. I still find the narration irritating but that is my bugbear and may not bother other readers.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elaine evans
  • elaine evans
  • 08-01-21

brilliant story good narrator

l really enjoyed this book and cannot wait to listen to the next book.The narrator was very good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for zippy
  • zippy
  • 04-09-21

Lovely

I really loved this story and would highly recommend it. Time slip at its best. Can’t wait to start an another one of Christina’s books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyz
  • Lyz
  • 04-05-21

Time travels you to a new world

Bought this on a whim and wasn't expecting much. Just finished and can honestly say it was one of the best books I've ever listened to. The narrator makes you feel as though you are right there with the Vikings, whether you're on a boat in the middle of the Baltic Sea or trying to trade a piece of silver to a merchant. The romance between Lanier and Hrafn is one that will make you gasping and smiling at the same time. And don't even get me started on the ending! Very unexpected!!
A must read for any one who needs an escape.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for crochetdiva
  • crochetdiva
  • 02-18-21

An amazing book.

I couldn't put this book away once I started it. The research was impressive, and the storyline was brilliant. I can't praise this story highly enough, a thoroughly good read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for heidi
  • heidi
  • 01-19-21

Just brilliant

Really loved this, read the first one too and from the first page it just captures you and I devoured it in a day.
Enjoyed the 2 main characters and their chemistry, loads of interesting historical facts. It has just left me wanting more.
Really good narration too, will be hunting down more by the same one.