• The Saxon Wolf

  • Fire Born 2
  • By: Angus Donald
  • Narrated by: Ade Dimberline
  • Length: 11 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (41 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Saxon Wolf  By  cover art

The Saxon Wolf

By: Angus Donald
Narrated by: Ade Dimberline
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Conflict flares once more in Saxony...

March, AD 773. Bjarki Bloodhand is now Fire Born - a legendary berserker inhabited by the ferocious spirit of a bear in battle. Yet he has sworn never again to allow that sacred rage to possess him, lest he for ever lose himself in the madness like his father.

Tor Hildarsdottir yearns to save pagan Saxony from the grip of the Christian Franks, who now occupy half the region. But she also has serious problems closer to home with her fast-growing pet bear cub, Garm, and, worse, she seems to be falling in love.

Widukind, new lord of the Saxons, is on a mission to reconquer the lands of his fathers from the Franks. He will stop at nothing to win the hearts of the men and women of the North, and bind them to his cause. But will they follow the Saxon Wolf in an unwinnable war? And will Bjarki join them?

The epic second novel in the Fire Born saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Giles Kristian, and Matthew Harffy.

©2022 Angus Donald (P)2022 Angus Donald

Critic Reviews

Compelling, disturbing, entertaining, this is a bloody riot from start to finish. In every good sense.
-- Theodore Brun, author of "A Burning Sea"

Donald has taken the legendary berserkers, those frothing-at-the-mouth shield-biters, and made them human, which once again proves that Donald is a writer not only at the top of his game, but of the game... It is a wonderful, rich and violent brew. I welcome Angus Donald to the shield wall of Viking fiction like a thirsty man welcomes a mead-brother to the feast... A tale worthy of the skalds
-- Giles Kristian, author of the "Raven" series

The Last Berserker strikes with the thundering power of Thor's hammer... rich with the earthy depth, historical detail, intrigue, violence and adventure that we expect from Donald. But it is Bjarki and Tor that make The Last Berserker stand out... Donald's masterful creations will live on in the imagination long after the final page.
-- Matthew Harffy, author of the "Bernicia" Chronicles

What listeners say about The Saxon Wolf

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mr j m tattersall
  • mr j m tattersall
  • 08-21-22

very good listen

Both books 1 &2 are well worth a listen. couldn't stop till the end. I only hope the author provides more tales as he hints in his historical notes.So come on Angus Donald, lets have more of the same

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sweetheart1
  • Sweetheart1
  • 11-09-22

emjoyable

i listed to both books back to back and thoroughly enjoyed them! the first book took a bit of getting into but once I did i couldn't stop.
looking forward to the next book when its released

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-22-22

AWESOME! What an Adventure

I loved the first book and thought in the back of my mind, how could they top the action, adventure and greatness. The Saxon Wolf has nailed it! Ade Dimberline has a brilliant storytelling narration style and his distinct and unique character voices really bring the world to life. I love the blend of historical and fictional aspects, the battles, the mythological side. Just a really cool adventure to go on and I'll certainly be listening to this one again. Bravo to the Narrator and Writer, they have a fan for life.