1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"They’re lying," my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. "They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive."

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy. She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turns up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave. And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

What does Noah remember, and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

©2021 Jess Ryder (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Second Marriage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sorry that it is over

Great story. I put put the book on every moment I could. Karma definitely came for someone that deserved it.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

YES YES YES!!! Loved it!

Well well well, Lilly the main character really was charming and wonderful! I loved the twists and turns. I couldn't get enough! The narrator was AWESOME!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Why so many good ratings?!

This was the least climactic book I have listened to in a long time. There was absolutely no mystery involved. You know what is happening the entire time almost. It is utterly boring. The narrator is not great either.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mixed feelings

I was definitely hooked into the story and characters but the main character is dense and made me mad by most of her choices. Overall, not my favorite Jess Ryder novel but not terrible. I guess it was okay. I was half interested, half wanted to get it over with and move on with my life. The story was definitely not as thrilling as expected.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good!couldn't stop listening !loved it.

finishihed it in a few listens .kept me wanting to hear mmore.and then the end
came to fast.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Read

Even though I pretty much figured out the plot of this book, I have to say it was an interesting read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very entertaining

I don’t know why anyone would give a negative review… this was enjoyable. The ending was slightly predictable but not the journey held my attention the entire time. The way it was told was comforting. Terrific voice performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Good!

I really enjoyed this story. The narrator was excellent, storyline was interesting and kept me going.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Wrong choice of Narrator

The main character has just turned 30, “closer in age to his kids than him” yet sounds like a 60 year old. Her voice is deeper and that’s fine.. and she is a wonderful narrator but it is utterly distracting that her voice is so matronly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!!!!

I just found a great new writer to follow!!! Highly recommend. It kept my attention the whole way. Engaging narrator.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-26-22

Absolutely rubbish

I’m raging I actually used a credit on this book and now I can’t return it. I probably listened to 2 hours or less and it’s utter crap! The narrator has a terrible, mundane voice. The story is boring and predictable. Don’t waste ur time 🤦‍♀️

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Philip Howe
  • Philip Howe
  • 11-14-21

First time I've had a book by this Author

It was a great listen, loved the plot and its twists and turns. Will definitely try another.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I'm all ears
  • I'm all ears
  • 11-05-21

kept me listening

Good characters, good storyline and good twists, didn't know what was going to happen next.

Definitely worth a credit

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Habiby
  • Michelle Habiby
  • 03-31-22

Excellent

wonderful, real edge of the seat listen, tears and fears rolled in. couldn't put it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-18-22

wonderful

a friend told me about this book and boy I am glad she did it was a fantastic listen did the whole book in a day the tension you could feel the narration was fantastic my only criticism would have been a slightly better ending but to say anything else would give it away . Going to find the next from this author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lou
  • Lou
  • 02-10-22

Fantastic .

I absolutely loved this book from the second I started reading it. It kept me hooked and intrigued from start to finish. The narrator also has a wonderful voice, which we all know just makes the book that much more special.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Whitelaw
  • J. Whitelaw
  • 01-08-22

Unputdownable

A thoroughly enjoyable listen. Edge of the seat stuff. Didn't want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 01-07-22

Brilliant story

This book is an amazing read never a dull pause it kept me enthralled all the way through.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-15-21

Laborious i

Far too much detail which does not contribute to the story line. I am persevering

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tezza
  • Tezza
  • 12-13-21

This is a 'one read book'

Had to keep listening straight through. The author makes all her characters realistic and the story compelling. Will collect all her books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eliza West
  • Eliza West
  • 01-28-22

Complication of a simple story line with bad narration

It would be tough creating several characters voices, and appreciate the effort involved, but this was awful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shabbydoo
  • shabbydoo
  • 12-02-21

Waited for a twist that never came

Overall it wasn’t a story. I felt the main character was a little naive, never letting her best mate know where is was going.
Was all a bit predictable in the end really. I kept thinking there’s going to be a twist at the end but it was not to be.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-29-22

it never really grabbed me

Neither the narration or the story meet expectations. Struggled to finish it and it was nothing memorable.