adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"They’re lying," my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. "They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive."

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy. She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turns up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave. And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

What does Noah remember, and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

©2021 Jess Ryder (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Second Marriage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sorry that it is over

Great story. I put put the book on every moment I could. Karma definitely came for someone that deserved it.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

YES YES YES!!! Loved it!

Well well well, Lilly the main character really was charming and wonderful! I loved the twists and turns. I couldn't get enough! The narrator was AWESOME!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Why so many good ratings?!

This was the least climactic book I have listened to in a long time. There was absolutely no mystery involved. You know what is happening the entire time almost. It is utterly boring. The narrator is not great either.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mixed feelings

I was definitely hooked into the story and characters but the main character is dense and made me mad by most of her choices. Overall, not my favorite Jess Ryder novel but not terrible. I guess it was okay. I was half interested, half wanted to get it over with and move on with my life. The story was definitely not as thrilling as expected.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Read

Even though I pretty much figured out the plot of this book, I have to say it was an interesting read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good!couldn't stop listening !loved it.

finishihed it in a few listens .kept me wanting to hear mmore.and then the end
came to fast.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Philip Howe
  • Philip Howe
  • 11-14-21

First time I've had a book by this Author

It was a great listen, loved the plot and its twists and turns. Will definitely try another.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I'm all ears
  • I'm all ears
  • 11-05-21

kept me listening

Good characters, good storyline and good twists, didn't know what was going to happen next.

Definitely worth a credit

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Whitelaw
  • J. Whitelaw
  • 01-08-22

Unputdownable

A thoroughly enjoyable listen. Edge of the seat stuff. Didn't want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 01-07-22

Brilliant story

This book is an amazing read never a dull pause it kept me enthralled all the way through.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-15-21

Laborious i

Far too much detail which does not contribute to the story line. I am persevering

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tezza
  • Tezza
  • 12-13-21

This is a 'one read book'

Had to keep listening straight through. The author makes all her characters realistic and the story compelling. Will collect all her books.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shabbydoo
  • shabbydoo
  • 12-02-21

Waited for a twist that never came

Overall it wasn’t a story. I felt the main character was a little naive, never letting her best mate know where is was going.
Was all a bit predictable in the end really. I kept thinking there’s going to be a twist at the end but it was not to be.