• The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

  • By: Matt Cain
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (69 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a humorous, charmingly wise novel perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and TJ Klune, the forced retirement of a shy, closeted postman in northern England creates the opportunity for him to track down his lost love, embrace his true self, connect with his community, and finally experience his life’s great adventure….   

Every day, Albert Entwistle makes his way through the streets of his small English town, delivering letters and parcels and returning greetings with a quick wave and a “how do?” Everyone on his route knows Albert, or thinks they do—a man of quiet routines, content to live alone with his cat, Gracie.   

Three months before his sixty-fifth birthday, Albert receives a letter from the Royal Mail thanking him for decades of service and stating that he is being forced into retirement. At once, Albert’s simple life unravels. Without the work that fills his days, what will he do? He has no friends, family, or hobbies—just a past he never speaks of, and a lost love that fills him with regret. And so, rather than continue his lonely existence, Albert forms a brave plan to start truly living, to be honest about who he is...and to find George, the man with whom he spent one perfect spring and summer long ago.   

One painful yet exhilarating step at a time, Albert begins searching for George and revealing his story to those around him. As he does, something extraordinary happens. Albert finds unlikely allies, new friends, and the courage to help others—even as he seeks the happiness he’s always denied himself.   

Beautifully written, funny, and wise, The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle is a book to fall in love with and to be inspired by, one that proves it is never too late to live, to hope, and to love.

©2022 Matt Cain (P)2022 Recorded Books
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: LGBTQ+

What listeners say about The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Treat!

I wanted a break from the serious scientific stuff I usually read. I wanted to listen to a good story about something worthwhile. This story about a lonely closeted postman in a small British town is filled with great characters and a wonderful unexpected plot. It's labeled LBTGQ+, and "Romance" but in my opinion this wonderful book is far more than any label. Anyone who wants to hear a good story beautifully read, as usual, by Simon Vance, this is for you. If I had teenagers around I would want them to read it. If I were still teaching, I would read it to my class - probably get fired, but so what. The entire book is about love, not sex. Couldn't turn by headset off! (I'm a 77 year old straight white lady by the way, and am so glad things have changed. I was there when you didn't even mention this topic)

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

made me smile

I got this book based on the reviews and have to say that I wasn't disappointed. While the ending was predictable with all loose ends tied up with a pretty bow, the journey Albert took to finding himself and the community he found along the way, made me smile. That he had fears and worries, and worked to overcome them, that more than once, he stepped out of his safe comfortable box to find who he was and what he was looking for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book should be in your cart or on your wish list!

Very engaging and important story. Wonderful characters, especially Albert. I miss them! Hope there’s a sequel!🤞

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very sweet read.

I enjoyed this story. A sweet summer read. Without a spoil alert - it is sometimes great to read something that isn't too complex or to heavy.