1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way - a stunning pause resister for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby. 

Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: Their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio makes a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers’ left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets - secrets that will transform their own lives.

Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times - other women they could trust.

Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love. 

©2020 Sheila Williams (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Secret Women

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ok story/horrible narration

The story wasn't bad but the narration was not. Also found it hard to believe the characters are Black. I have never heard a Black mother call her children "Satan's sperm". The dialog was also unreal at times.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantabulous Read

I lost my mother three & a half months ago. And until I read this book, I thought my grief was odd.
I laughed, cried, reminiscences over each woman’s story. Although fictional it rang with some truth in many people’s lives!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing and healing.

I can identify with each of the main characters in this story. I love the way they came together and then helped each other through painful revelations and unwanted truths.
Each character embodies part of my own story; struggles with a parent, feeling overwhelmed with an active teenager, and finding out I was adopted late in my life.
Thank you Sheila Williams for your insightful storytelling and Zakiya Young for your brilliant performance. I needed this book. May God continue to bless you both.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

MEH

it was just okay...I am not impressed. The narration was annoying. I had to force myself to finish it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

sisterhood

The commraderie between the women us what I loved the most about this book. I didn't like the part where she found out that her mother wasn't her mother after she died. How hard is it to be truthful to your children, why carry secrets til death. I loved hoe Shelia addressed mental health, the good and bad. She highlighted the struggles of women and my sisterhood. #Book12of2021 #bookworm #whatsnext

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Horrible narration

The narrator was horrible. I couldn’t finish the audible book, had to read it myself. Very hard to believe that these were black women.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Great Read Enjoyed listening the story was great my favorite was Carmen and Joan and that family

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Everyone has secrets; Mother's too!

I didn't really care for this story. it kind of dragged itself along. The best part of the book was Carmen's mom, Joan. Everyone has secrets. What made them believe their mom's didn't.