• The Secret by the Lake

  • By: Louise Douglas
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (70 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Secret by the Lake  By  cover art

The Secret by the Lake

By: Louise Douglas
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.90

Buy for $22.90

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When a tragedy forces the family Amy works for as a nanny to retreat to a small lakeside cottage, she realises they desperately need her help and support, so she agrees to go with them.

But Amy finds the cottage by the lake unsettling, even sinister. The house is where the children’s mother spent her childhood - and the place where her 17-year-old sister disappeared mysteriously. 

Before long, ominous truths begin rising to the surface, and Amy becomes bewitched by the missing sister’s story. Can Amy unlock the secrets of the past before they repeat themselves?

Best-selling author of House by the Sea Louise Douglas returns with an enthralling and captivating novel, perfect for fans of Barbara O’Neal, Lucinda Riley and Rachel Hore.

©2021 Louise Douglas (P)2021 Boldwood Books
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic Reviews

"Chillingly atmospheric and utterly compelling." (Tammy Cohen)

"Crackles with repressed longing...the explosive ending took my breath away." (C.L. Taylor)

What listeners say about The Secret by the Lake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of her best

I fell in love with this creepy and well written story.
The protagonist is a wonderfully relatable character and the book is well developed and well thought out from start to finish.
Louise Douglas is a master of her craft.
“In Her Shadow” is my favorite but this was a very, very close second.
I could not put it down.
The narration is truly perfect. I can’t say enough about what a difference this makes.
It takes a good story and turns it into a total experience for the reader when the performer is all in .
Would highly and strongly recommend this eerie and gorgeous tale.
A creepy lake, a creepy kid, and a tense and paranoid atmosphere in this small town filled with secrets and a compelling back story.
Yes. Yes. Yes.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Both sad and beautiful

I have enjoyed the twists and turns in this authors books. Great storyteller. I would recommend it to everyone. Reader is also excellent