adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the war against Hitler, every secret counts....

Society heiress Evelyn Brooke-Edwards is a skilled interrogator - her beauty making her a non-threat in the eyes of the prisoners.

Farm girl Betty Connors may not be able to type as she claimed, but her crack analytical skills soon find her unearthing covert connections.

German ex-pat Judith Stern never expected to find herself listening in to German POWs' whispered conversations, but the Nazis took her father from her, so she will do whatever it takes to help the Allies end this war.

Billeted together in the attic of Latimer House - a place where secrets abound - Evelyn, Betty and Judith soon form a bond of friendship that carries them through the war. Because nothing is stronger than women united.

Tucked away in the Buckinghamshire countryside, Latimer House, a grand country estate, stands proudly - a witness to some of greatest secrets of WW2.

Used by the SOE to hold Nazi prisoners of war, this stunning historical novel is inspired by the untold story of the secret listeners of ‘M Room’, who worked day and night to help the Allies win the war. A must-listen for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn.

©2021 Jules Wake (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Shines a light on a part of the British war effort I’d previously not been aware of...a fascinating, informative and heartwarming novel, and I loved it." (Sunday Times best seller Jill Mansell) 

What listeners say about The Secrets of Latimer House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story

It's a decent story; maybe a bit predictable, but good. I enjoyed it, & the narration is good. One historical problem - they refer to the USAF. The USAF wasn't called that til a couple years after WWII, I believe. Overall, a pretty good listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I loved every moment of this book! The story and characters are great and the narrator does such a great job with all the voices, it's almost like having a full cast!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pleasant reading experience

I did enjoy listening to this book . Had a few slow times but was worth a read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT ALL AROUND

This is the best book I have read in a very long time. It completely drew me in to the setting and the story. The characters are well-developed and the interweaving of their stories is seamless and satisfying.
The narration was spot-on as well, with her spectacular tone and style, and her interpretation reflected with every vocal inflection. I'm disappointed to be at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

History, Romance, And Best Of All Friendship

Loved this story and couldn't stop listening. The powerful friendship of three women during wartime keeps you wanting to know more. To top it off, Latimer House is a real place and during WW2 was actually a center for interrogation of German captives.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well-paced with full characters.

I enjoyed the intertwined storyline of this novel. The characters were younique and genuine. The plot was well thought out and moved smoothly. None of the book drags, which can sometimes happen with historical fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming

lovely story. excellent performance. shows the power of friendship and how terrible events can bring people together in an unlikely way. during these truly difficult times with great isolation, it warmed my heart and made me really miss friendship.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

How many times can one roll ones’ eyes and sigh?

I can sum this book up in five words…
HARLEQUIN ROMANCE SET IN WWII. Do with it as you may!