• The Secrets of Latimer House

  • By: Jules Wake
  • Narrated by: Kristin Atherton
  • Length: 14 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (114 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the war against Hitler, every secret counts....

Society heiress Evelyn Brooke-Edwards is a skilled interrogator - her beauty making her a non-threat in the eyes of the prisoners.

Farm girl Betty Connors may not be able to type as she claimed, but her crack analytical skills soon find her unearthing covert connections.

German ex-pat Judith Stern never expected to find herself listening in to German POWs' whispered conversations, but the Nazis took her father from her, so she will do whatever it takes to help the Allies end this war.

Billeted together in the attic of Latimer House - a place where secrets abound - Evelyn, Betty and Judith soon form a bond of friendship that carries them through the war. Because nothing is stronger than women united.

Tucked away in the Buckinghamshire countryside, Latimer House, a grand country estate, stands proudly - a witness to some of greatest secrets of WW2.

Used by the SOE to hold Nazi prisoners of war, this stunning historical novel is inspired by the untold story of the secret listeners of ‘M Room’, who worked day and night to help the Allies win the war. A must-listen for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn.

©2021 Jules Wake (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Shines a light on a part of the British war effort I’d previously not been aware of...a fascinating, informative and heartwarming novel, and I loved it." (Sunday Times best seller Jill Mansell) 

What listeners say about The Secrets of Latimer House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Gross

I got almost 12 minutes in and there was already a part where a man was bullying a woman in a sexual way. What is wrong with people that they enjoy that crap. It’s disgusting. I just want a story about the friendship and work of people during WWII I don’t need gory details of rape, spousal rape and sex! Not why I’m here! I wish some of these books came with a warning. I’m here for historical fiction, not soft porn!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story

It's a decent story; maybe a bit predictable, but good. I enjoyed it, & the narration is good. One historical problem - they refer to the USAF. The USAF wasn't called that til a couple years after WWII, I believe. Overall, a pretty good listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pleasant reading experience

I did enjoy listening to this book . Had a few slow times but was worth a read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

How many times can one roll ones’ eyes and sigh?

I can sum this book up in five words…
HARLEQUIN ROMANCE SET IN WWII. Do with it as you may!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I loved every moment of this book! The story and characters are great and the narrator does such a great job with all the voices, it's almost like having a full cast!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

Great new slant on WW II historical fiction that comes alive during the performance. I would love to hear more like this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the complicated characters. The book addresses the more complicated & personal challenges people had during the war that most books do not. It addresses complexities of that time in history. Really enjoyed it and will read/ listen again to it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Started slow - almost gave it up glad I didn't

This started out slow i had it in my library for months before finishing- glad i gave it a second chance. Wonderful story about friends and romance. Narrated beautifully!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

narrator could just calm down a little bit. Not so much drama in her inflection. Good voice for narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful narrator

I liked this book. lots going on with good characters. I did fast forward through some....