adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don’t miss the new, devastatingly good thriller from Helen Fields, One for Sorrow. Coming February 2022 and available to pre-order now!

The Shadow Man is a twisty crime thriller that will leave you gasping for more.

Includes a short story exclusive to the audiobook.

He collects his victims. But he doesn’t keep them safe. 

Elspeth, Meggy and Xavier are locked in a flat. They don’t know where they are, and they don’t know why they’re there. They only know that the shadow man has taken them, and he won’t let them go. Desperate to escape, the three of them must find a way out of their living hell, even if it means uncovering a very dark truth. Because the shadow man isn’t a nightmare. He’s all too real.

And he’s watching.

Helen Fields is back with a heart-pounding new book, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Stuart MacBride.

©2021 Helen Fields (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A gripping thriller with one of the creepiest and most fascinating villains I’ve ever read!" (Roz Watkins) 

"A pulse-pounding, fascinating psychological procedural." (Louise Mullins)

"Helen Fields knows it out of the park with The Shadow Man. From the creep-you-out opening to the last staggering page, this one just refuses to let go. Simply brilliant." (Neil Broadfoot)

What listeners say about The Shadow Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book from Helen Fields!

Loved this book, the story and the narrators were amazing. I hope this series continues!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

No, No,No Thanks

I wish there was something redeeming to say for this book,.. but alas,.. it a firm three strikes..

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Did not like!

I listened to the first two chapters and had no idea what I was listening to. Two separate stories each one getting off the beat or what was going on. Wish I could return this book and get my money back. I love Helen Feels books, but this was just not something that grabbed my attention.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

creepy story.
enjoyed the accents.
hope she writes another with Connie & Barter, I liked them.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I will avoid narrator McCarron in future.

I gave the performance three stars, because there are two narrators. The male narrator, Robin Laing, is excellent. I wish he had read the entire book. The female narrator, Cathleen McCarron was irritating in the extreme. Her accents were poorly executed, especially the supposedly American accent. I also found her voice irritating, and her over-all performance sub-par. The book was greatly diminished for me. I repeatedly stopped the audio during the chapters read by McCarron because they were so irritating. The story is good enough, and Laing is very good, but I sincerely hope not to encounter narration by McCarron in any future audiobooks.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bit disappointed to be honest

I’m a huge fan of the author’s DI Callanach series, so I’m thrilled to read her new standalone novel. Yet I feel like this book didn’t really live up to my expectations. The characters are a bit flat and one dimensional, with a kind of forced chemistry. The plot reminded me of Perfect Remains by the same author, yet this book was relatively poorly executed even though the storytelling method and plot resembled its predecessor, with much less tension and with twists you can easily imagine.

As for the narrators, the male narrator is okay, but the female narrator annoys me for some reason (may be her British accent). I never got used to her narration.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a huge fan and can’t wait for the next DI Callanach book. But I do feel that this book left much to be desired.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy
  • Cathy
  • 02-07-21

Yes!

Loved it, could not put it down. Listened to it all over a weekend! Highly recommend!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiger Massey
  • Tiger Massey
  • 02-18-21

Worst American accent in the history of audiobooks

I really, really love Helen Fields and was looking forward to this book.
However the make narrator is great, the female narrator is fine with her Scottish accent but I literally can't listen to her American accent and can't listen to the book, it's that bad.
I have no idea how this passed any editing process. It's a great shame as I'm sure the story will be fantastic.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia
  • Patricia
  • 02-10-21

Another fabulous offering from Helen Fields

Brilliant story, brilliant narration. Intelligent ,engaging writing. New characters - will we see them again?. I hope so but not before Mrs Fields has a couple more Callanach books under her belt. I’m missing him.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa C
  • Lisa C
  • 02-16-21

overall very good

Great story and the male narrator was excellent but the female narrator was not good at all for the American accent. She was fine for the female Scottish accents but I would be put off further instalments of this series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-31-21

I hate Connie

Not sure if it was the narrator or character but what a disappointment!
Love love the perfect series but this was a huge let down.. the Connie character is irritating beyond belief, wish I’d read rather than listened

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deep purple
  • Deep purple
  • 03-29-21

Not as good as the DI Luc Callanach series

If you enjoyed Di Luc Callanach series, as I did, you will probably be looking forward to reading this book - I just thought it was a bit ridiculous - not menacing, not dark, not frightening, not in the same league - listened to the end but it was quite frankly laughable by that stage - relief when it ended - if there is a follow up I wont be buying it. Huge disappointment

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Little
  • M. Little
  • 03-03-21

Excellent example of the genre

I was nearly put off by unkind reviews of the narrator’s American accent for one character. Honestly I thought it was fine, and she’s as good a narrator as ever. Great new characters, same world as Callanach. Can’t wait for the next one, I’m sure there will be more!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jim Webber
  • Jim Webber
  • 03-01-21

Loved it

I was a little perturbed initially when Robin Laing started the narration. It felt like cheating on Luc and Ava. However 1 chapter in and it left me full of dark desire to hear more.

Set in the same Edinburgh backdrop as the Perfect books with a few guest appearance this book, hopefully the starter for a whole new series was as magically dark as we can expect from Helen Fields, tense as ever and still maintains a fee comic edges.

Thoroughly loved this. It you like crime, disturbing darkness and create characterisation this is a must.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen Morris
  • Jen Morris
  • 02-27-21

fab

brilliant book!! this is my first time reading this author and am v impressed... fantastic

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kay
  • Kay
  • 02-26-21

Another enjoyable read from Helen Fields

Found this book at little slow at the beginning & characters not as lovable as DI Callanach, however by the end of the book I loved it. Also loved the little surprise at the end. Excited for the next book! Maybe a new series with Connie & Barda.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-23-21

Well paced storyline.

I enjoyed being drawn along at a good pace by the twists and turns of the story and interesting characters.
I did find the performance of the American accent used for Connie a bit fake when her character was introduced however it improved a lot over the course of the story to be quite enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 04-14-21

Oh no no no

What is it about serial killers. Really there are not as many serial killers as books. I’m happy with a murder here and there but serial killers really give me the irrits