1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.20

Buy for $25.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home - until one of them ends up in terrible danger. Four very different lives are about to become entangled.

This unforgettable audiobook is about people who try to save each other - and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Narrator cast list:

  • Ruth, read by Jorjeana Marie
  • Dora, read by Erin Tripp
  • Alyce, read by Karissa Vacker
  • Hank, read by Robbie Daymond
©2016 Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"...this is an exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock's measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world." ( Booklist)
"Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. The gutsiness of these four teens who, at heart, are trying to find their places in the world and survive against challenging odds, will resonate with readers of all ages." ( Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about The Smell of Other People's Houses

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not put it down

Wonderful compelling story weaving. I enjoyed the intensity of the characters emotional lives and how it ended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best 5 hours I've spent all summer

Beautiful story. Lovely characters. Highly recommend. My sincere thanks to the author and performers. Bravo.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK.

It was OK. A little confusing at times switching between characters. Didn't care for the ending. Feels cut short. The narrators were OK and I didn't feel agitated by their voices. But I also slowed down the audio which helps.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tears in my eyes!!!

I will fully admit the title captured my attention. Little did I know I was about to discover a piece of US history and culture I know nothing about. A wonderful read for high schoolers and adults. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, Alaska, Family is Everywhere

An incredible cast reads a story of strength, love, and Alaska life. Hearing the familiar words of fish camp and statehood struggles were a delight and emotional. Even if you're from Outside you will identify with struggles and redemption.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this!

I thoroughly enjoyed the story and learning a little about fishing and Alaska in the process. Great character development.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

superb

ha sido una gran experiencia compartir mi lectura con una lectura en voz alta c

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book, i wish it was longer.

I enjoyed this book, i wish it was longer. I liked the author's use of language. the story was sad, but vibrant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

I loved this. It would be great for anyone to read/listen to. I think it is something that is quite lovely for young teenager to read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, Heart Lifting Stories

I loved this book! Four compelling stories of four teenagers leading separate, yet intertwined lives. The story is beautifully written with emotion, dedication, acceptance, loyalty, excitement and selfless love of each character in different ways blending all together in the final chapter of the book. All the narrators are truly amazing in their unique characterization of the character they are portraying. The author and narrators are outstanding. This a very enjoyable, captivating audiobook, and I highly recommend it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amisha
  • Amisha
  • 06-12-20

Beautiful stories that weave in together

Great story and performance by all, however throughout the recording there was a regular, faint beeping sound which was a bit annoying.

1 person found this helpful