• The Song of Glory and Ghost

  • Outlaws of Time, Book 2
  • By: N. D. Wilson
  • Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the bestselling author of 100 Cupboards comes the second book in a one-of-a-kind middle grade time travel series that is perfect for fans of Soman Chainani's School for Good and Evil books.

Sam Miracle never thought that his future could lie in the past. But after leaping through centuries at the side of a mystical time walker, Sam and his best friend, Glory, know that the next morning’s sun could belong to yesterday as easily as tomorrow.But no day is safe. Since the Vulture escaped, Sam and Glory’s greatest nemesis has left no time nor place unmarked by his path of destruction. At least Sam and Glory have Peter, the youngest version of their mentor, Father Tiempo, to help repair the sands of time... until they don’t.Determined to save their friend from the Vulture’s clutches, Sam and Glory put their trust in Ghost, a creature from before time itself. But now, the sidekick must fill the legend’s shoes, the hero must play backup, and the powers they have yet to discover might just hold the key to protecting every last second for eons to come.

©2017 N. D. Wilson (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Song of Glory and Ghost

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

N.D. Wilson is a Boss

This is an incredible follow up to the first book and MacLeod Andrews doesn't disappoint in his performance. I listened to the whole thing straight on a road trip from the East Coast of Africa to the West and it was a fitting adventure for an adventure. Highly recommended for youth and adults alike.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

This is a book the family could enjoy. It is full of surprises. I loved it!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ray Bradbury meets C. S. Lewis & M L'engl

This story works just fine for 50 year olds. A little weird, a little mysterious, a lot of peril and adventure. The story is fun but never feels unimportant. Be sure to read #1 in the series first.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

J

This was AMAZING! I loved listening to this. Keep up the good work! You are a great writer

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is the best short work of fiction ever

The story and narration are excellent. It may be written for a middle school age range, but ND Wilson knows how to capture an imagination and the narrator's country twang only adds to the fantasy western feel.

In the first book Sam shines. In this book Glory comes into her own role. There are layers of depth in this series that you won't be able to see in a single read/listen. It's an excellent series and this book reaches the highest heights out of any of them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This book is a good ending to the first book

The story contains a lot of action and humor. I think a hero with snakes for arms is really a funny and imaginative twist to the usual super hero story. The main characters do develop somewhat and there are a few philosophical insights which help make the story richer.

Having said this, I think Wilson must be ADD. Listening to the story feels like being led on an endless trail of obstacles as you careen towards an abrupt ending. New characters are added but older ones remain undeveloped. The plot often seems unfocused. Maybe younger readers might like the different ways action scenes are written in any situation, but as an adult, I find many of the situations in which the characters find themselves in frustrating because they do not really advance the plot or tell us anything new about the characters.

I do enjoy a good adventure which Wilson’s three different series can provide. His multiverse converges in a house on the California coast and a dark underworld city. While some readers may enjoy the lead on through three book series, I think I am moving on. I will not purchase the third book in this series. I have purchased three Ashtown books, four 100 Cupboards books, and two time travel books. I am done. Thanks. 😆

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful duo of books!

It took about 20-30 minutes to get into the first book of this series, but once I did, I was hooked on the story and devoured both books. Once again, ND Wilson has taken my kiddos and I on a mind-bending, hurtle through time adventure extolling the virtues of living your life fully for good, and for God...with poignant moments like seeing a woman in her 90’s as beautiful, ripe with having lived life and pouring herself out to become the gift she was meant to be, a moment which brought tears to my eyes, or the unfolding of how one character gives his life up just for the chance of another character to fulfill his purpose. I love that Wilson helps children see that it is an adventure to go deep into who you are meant to be, to understand yourself as a character fighting against evil in this world, and that everyone has the chance to live life fully when you’re living for what is right and good and true, and His. But no preachy version of that comes out...just characters you love, who wrestle with the same fears and struggles we all do...and you see them having the choice to retreat or go all out, and what their choices might mean. Besides all of that, my children just love the stories...they’re twisty, fascinating, suspenseful, exciting, scary (but not too scary - my younger ones don’t get scared listening...I think the older and more experienced with life’s dangers you are, the more scary the scary bits are, so I think the scary parts were the most difficult for me). If you’re not a Christian, I think you’ll still appreciate the adventure...and if you are, there’s alot to mine here in terms of how the thoughts of Wilson’s theology are woven into the characters and situations. See if you can find the 11 apostles (minus Judas Iscariot). The audio version was well done. Thanks to all involved, a very good book leaving me with lots to chew on and great conversations with my kiddos!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Where to start. Very different.

This is a crafty, crazy adventure. Deeper than most. Loved the crafting and the themes.