1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Storm Girl  By  cover art

The Storm Girl

By: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Kitty Kelly
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $15.26

Buy for $15.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The gripping new historical novel from the USA Today best-selling author of The Girl from Bletchley Park and The Forgotten Secret

A heartbreaking choice. A secret kept for centuries. 

1784. When Esther Harris’ father hurts his back, she takes over his role helping smugglers hide contraband in the secret cellar in their pub. But when the free traders’ ships are trapped in the harbour, a battle between the smugglers and the revenue officers leads to murder and betrayal—and Esther is forced to choose between the love of her life and protecting her family....

Present day. Fresh from her divorce, Millie Galton moves into a former inn overlooking the harbour in Mudeford and plans to create her dream home. When a chance discovery behind an old fireplace reveals the house’s secret history as a haven for smugglers and the devastating story of its former residents, could the mystery of a disappearance from centuries ago finally be solved?

Sweeping historical fiction perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and Tracy Rees.

©2022 Kathleen McGurl (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Storm Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration

I don't know what to make of the narrator's accent. The accent for the 18th century sounded like Cockney.
The story is interesting but marred by being too chatty. I would not listen to this narrator again, but I might read more by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a good Story 5/5

Kathleen McGurl has written and good story and Kitty Kelly was and excellent narrator.

This is a great story of a 1700's Pub being restored to make a present-day home. Great fun learning the history to answer questions of the present day owner + the romantic involvements from both times. Nicely done.